The Edmond Sun

May 13, 2013

5-14 Good Reads

Books


The Edmond Sun

EDMOND — ‘THE FITZOSBORNES AT WAR’

BY MICHELLE COOPER

Sophie FitzOsborne and the royal family of Montmaray escaped their remote island home when the Nazis attacked. But as war breaks out in England and around the world, nowhere is safe.

Sophie fills her journal with tales of a life during wartime. Blackouts and the Blitz. Dancing in nightclubs with soldiers on leave. And endlessly waiting for news of her brother Toby, whose plane was shot down over enemy territory.

But even as bombs rain down on London, hope springs up and love blooms for this most endearing princess. And when the Allies begin to drive their way across Europe, the FitzOsbornes take heart — maybe, just maybe, there will be a way to liberate Montmaray as well.

Filled with drama, danger, intrigue and love, the final book in the Montmaray Journals is ideal for fans of Jane Austen or the Brontes.

Ages 12 up.



‘PRETTY PENNY MAKES ENDS MEET’

BY DEVON KINCH

Pretty Penny is a clever entrepreneur and financial role model for kids, demonstrating the development of a sound relationship with money.

Penny’s adventures take place in the “Small Mall” she creates in her grandmother’s attic, reimagined in each book as the site of a rummage sale, a bookstore, a doggie salon, a jewelry boutique, etc.

There, Penny creatively solves everyday money problems — such as earning and saving, budgeting, and needing versus wanting things, accompanied by her trusty pet pig, Iggy. And Grandma Bunny is always present for a nurturing, supportive, grown-up point of view.

In the latest addition to Devon Kinch’s Pretty Penny series, Grandma Bunny’s basement has flooded in the middle of the night, and her budget for home repairs is already gone!

But Pretty Penny and pet pig, Iggy, waste no time in coming up with a solution to the problem: they will have a jewelry sale to help make ends meet.

Children will love this addition to the Pretty Penny series that focuses on helping others by solving money problems. This story clearly illustrates the concept of “profits,” and that sometimes you have to spend money first to make money.

Kinch is the author-illustrator of the Pretty Penny series. It is her belief that young children can avoid financial trouble by learning how to establish a healthy relationship with money at an early age.

Ages 4-8.



‘SPIRIT’S CHOSEN’

BY ESTHER FRIESNER

In this conclusion to the two-part adventure begun in Esther Friesen’s “Spirit Princess,” Himiko’s world is falling apart.

An attack by the Ookami clan has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. And those who remain in the ransacked Matsu village are certain they’ve angered the gods.

Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her beloved tribe. Traveling through the treacherous wilderness with her best friend, Kaya, their only goal is to free her clanfolk from the Ookami.

At every turn she encounters other tribes and unforeseen challenges that ultimately lead to Himiko’s own capture by the Ookami.

Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies and every step of her unconventional journey has prepared her for something greater than life as an princess.

Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there’s more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this young shamaness and warrior.

Friesner’s Princess of Myth books chronicling such strong female heroines in history as Helen of Troy, Nefertiti and Himiko explore heroism, family versus individual duty and gender roles.

Ages 12 up.



‘JANIE FACE TO FACE’

BY CAROLINE B. COONEY

“Janie Face to Face” is the final book in the best-selling Janie series that began with “The Face on the Milk Carton.” In this conclusion to the popular series, Caroline B. Cooney gives readers answers to any of their remaining questions about Janie and her life after the discovery that she had been kidnapped.

Countless readers have followed Janie Johnson’s story: the riveting tale of a happy-go-lucky toddler snatched from a mall in New Jersey and raised by her kidnapper’s loving and unsuspecting parents.

From recognizing her own face on a friend’s milk carton, to falling in love with the ultimate boy next door, to returning to her “real” family, Janie’s life has both captivated and horrified readers everywhere.

Now 18 years old, Janie has found room in her heart for both of her families, and is heading off to college in the vast metropolis of New York City.

Janie is determined to find the anonymity she longs for, even if it means hiding who she really is.

But when Calvin Vinessett, a best-selling and utterly ruthless author, decides to write a true-crime book about her life, Janie is forced to confront her past — even if that means coming face to face with her kidnapper.

With “Janie Face to Face,” Cooney has come full-circle to show readers what really happens to Janie — and whether she’s able to put together the pieces of her past to create her own future.

Ages 12 up.



‘FLUTTER’

BY GINA LINKO

All Emery Land wants is to be like any other 17-year-old — to go to school, hang out with her friends and just be normal.

But for as long as she can remember, she’s suffered from seizures. And in recent years they’ve consumed her life.

To Emery they’re much more than seizures, she calls them loops — moments when she travels through wormholes back and forth in time and to a mysterious town.

The loops are taking their toll on her physically. So she practically lives in the hospital where her scientist father and an ever-growing team of doctors monitor her every move.

Escaping from the hospital, Emery travels to Esperanza, the town from her loops, on the upper peninsula of Michigan, where she meets Asher Clarke. Ash’s life is governed by his single-minded pursuit of performing Good Samaritan acts to atone for the death of a loved one.

Drawn together, they must unravel their complicated connection before it’s too late.

Ages 12 up.



NOTE: Email dpeery@edmondsun.com to have your name entered into a drawing for the following titles: “The FitzOsbornes at War” and/or “Pretty Penny Makes Ends Meet” and/or “Spirit’s Chosen.” Deadline is 10 a.m. May 20. Winner will be notified by return email. Winner is responsible for picking up the book at The Edmond Sun at 123 S. Broadway. All entrants must be 18 or older to win.