The Edmond Sun

July 2, 2013

Board of Education fills vacant seat

The Edmond Sun

EDMOND — Stephanie Bills, Metro-Tech’s chief officer of Human Resources, has been appointed to fill Seat No. 4 on the Edmond Board of Education.

The opening was created last month when longtime board member George Cohlmia announced his resignation. The appointment was made official at Monday’s monthly board meeting.

Cohlmia held Seat No. 4 since 2004. He was serving in his second, five-year term. He resigned to allow his daughter an opportunity to accept a teaching position within the Edmond Public Schools district. Board rules prohibit members from having immediate family members employed by the district.

Bills is a former teacher in Edmond. She was one of the teachers employed at Santa Fe High School in its inaugural year, 1992. She has been employed at Metro Technology Center since 2001 and is currently the chief officer of Human Resources. Bills brings a wealth of experience and wisdom with her, having spent 22 years in education. She has three children; two who are current EPS students and one recent graduate of Santa Fe High School.  

“We are looking forward to working with Stephanie,” said Board President Jamie Underwood. “We believe that she will be an asset to the board and the students we serve.”

There are eight months left on Cohlmia’s current term. Bills will have the option of running to keep the seat when it is up for election in February 2014.

“I believe all students deserve a quality education,” Bills said. “And, I have a responsibility to support our teachers and administrators in this process.

“Given the vacancy in District 4, my background in education and passion for student achievement ... it was my personal responsibility to offer my time, services and talents to the future of our students. I am honored to be selected to serve as the newest board member for Edmond Public Schools.”

Edmond’s school board consists of five members, one from each election district, each serving a five-year term with one member’s term expiring each year. Current school board members are: Lee Ann Kuhlman, Seat No. 1; Kathleen Duncan, Seat No. 2; Jamie Underwood, Seat No. 3; and Kemp Cole, Seat No. 5.