The Edmond Sun

November 15, 2012

The Stacy Group to build next Edmond elementary school

Elementary No. 17 to be completed fall of 2014

Patty Miller
The Edmond Sun

EDMOND — In a special meeting Thursday, Edmond Board of Education members voted 3-0 to name the architect for the new elementary school No. 17 and to select the architect selection committee for the new middle school No. 6.

Voting to pass both proposals were Board President Jamie Underwood and board members Lee Ann Kuhlman and Kathleen Duncan. Kemp Cole and George Cohlmia were absent.

Bret Towne, associate director of district operations, said the Architect Selection committee nominated the Stacy Group based on design, utility and their experience with the district’s other construction projects.

The committee was composed of David Stapleton, University of Central Oklahoma architect; Steve Manek, City of Edmond engineer; Roger Brown, associate superintendent of Norman Schools; Ruthie Riggs, Edmond’s John Ross Elementary principal; and Towne.

When asked by Kuhlman how Manek felt the process went and whether he thought it was a fair process, Manek replied yes and the architect selection by a committee is the method the City of Edmond uses.

Kuhlman said she thought Superintendent David Goin and Towne had chosen an outstanding committee to make the selection.

“We have achieved our goal to make the selection more open to the community,” Kuhlman said.

The Stacy Group’s fee is a strict 6 percent of the total cost and expenses, Town said with the construction budget estimated to be between $14 million to $15 million.

“Hopefully we will be drawing about 75 percent of our staff from other schools,” Towne said. “That will be determined by how the other district schools grow.”

Towne said 20 firms had applied for the architect job for the new elementary school, which is to be named after the December board meeting.

The architect selection committee for the new middle school No. 6 will remain the same with Desiree Witmer, Summit Middle School principal, replacing Riggs.