The Edmond Sun

Opinion

January 6, 2014

Affordable Care Act provides an unwelcome reality

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Affordable Care Act remains vastly unpopular across the country, and problems with the program continue to be revealed. These realities could actually prevent the president’s healthcare law from going into effect at the start of this year. On January 1, those enrolled for coverage under Obamacare became eligible to receive it. But the days ahead are likely to uncover more insurmountable problems for patients, doctors, employers and insurers.

The president sold his healthcare overhaul by making promises he knew couldn’t be kept and never intended to keep. We remember his notorious assurance before and after passage, “If you like your doctor, you can keep your doctor. If you like your plan, you can keep your plan.” His rhetoric, however convincing, can’t change the fact that few Americans will get to keep their doctors or coverage. Despite the law’s promise to provide “affordable care,” the cost will rise for most individuals, either through higher premiums and deductibles, new taxes and fees or penalties for not signing up.

It’s not just patients who get a bad deal from this law. Doctors also will be punished and short-changed. Many predict coverage under Obamacare to be much like Medicaid, in which doctors do not receive adequate payment for the quality care provided, due to low reimbursement rates. They also will stop seeing many of their regular patients, whose health history and conditions have been followed for years; this hurts both patients and doctors.

Additionally, because of the delay of the business mandate, businesses were given temporary relief from having to purchase insurance for their employees. But this doesn’t fix the problem of higher premiums for small businesses. Health insurers are now faced with an annual fee that is intended to help fund subsidies. Rather than make insurance more affordable, however, this new tax on insurers likely will be passed to the consumer in the form of higher premiums. The Washington Post explained, “In total, the tax will shake insurers of $8 billion next year and about $100 billion over the next decade, and that alone is expected to drive up insurance costs by around 2 or 2.5 percent for small employers.” Higher premiums hurt small businesses, damages the job market and stunts economic growth. When companies experience increases in one area, they are forced to cut back elsewhere, stalling innovation, job growth and economic recovery.

The more Obamacare is implemented, the more we recognize that it is a defective program. Since passage, House Republicans have listened to the opinions of the American people and have voted more than 40 times to repeal the law partially or completely. While seven of the partial-repeal bills have become law, most efforts have been ignored by the Senate and condemned by the president.

In the days ahead, I hope that we can find ways to work with the president to prevent some of its harm to the American people. Otherwise, the law will continue to be an unwelcome reality that wreaks havoc on our nation.

 

U.S. REP. TOM COLE, R-Moore, represents Oklahoma’s 4th Congressional District.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

  • The pessimist’s guide to grizzly bears and Earth Day

    This coming Friday, to “celebrate Earth Day,” the Walt Disney Co. will release one of those cutesy, fun-for-all-ages, nature documentaries. “Bears” is about grizzly bears.
    The trailer says, “From DisneyNature comes a story that all parents share. About the love, the joy, the struggle and the strength it takes to raise a family.”
    Talk about your misguided “Hollywood values.” I previously have acknowledged a morbid, unreasonable fear of grizzly bears, stemming from a youth misspent reading grisly grizzly-attack articles in Readers Digest. This fear is only morbid and unreasonable because I live about 1,500 miles from the nearest wild grizzly bear. Still. ...

    April 16, 2014

  • Digging out of the CIA-Senate quagmire

    Last week, the Senate Intelligence Committee, led by Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., voted to declassify parts of its report on the CIA’s rendition, detention and interrogation program. The White House, the CIA and the Senate still have to negotiate which portions of the report will be redacted before it is made public. But this is an important step in resolving the ugly dispute that has erupted between the intelligence committee and the intelligence agency.
    The dispute presents two very serious questions. Was the program consistent with American values and did it produce valuable intelligence? And is effective congressional oversight of secret activities possible in our democracy?

    April 15, 2014

  • Los Angeles Times: Congress extend jobless benefits again

    How’s this for irony: Having allowed federal unemployment benefits to run out in December, some lawmakers are balking at a bill to renew them retroactively because it might be hard to figure out who should receive them. Congress made this task far harder than it should have been, but the technical challenges aren’t insurmountable. Lawmakers should restore the benefits now and leave them in place until the unemployment rate reaches a more reasonable level.

    April 14, 2014

  • Many nations invested in Israel

    Former Israeli Ambassador to the United States Yoram Ettinger recently spoke to a gathering at the Chabad Center for Jewish Life and Learning in Oklahoma City. The event began with a presentation by Rabbi Ovadia Goldman, who told the attendee that the  upcoming Jewish holiday of Passover was an occasion for them to embrace the children of God, which is all of humanity.

    April 14, 2014

  • Coming soon: More ways to get to know your doctor

    Last week, the federal government released a massive database capable of providing patients with much more information about their doctors.
    The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the government agency that runs Medicare, is posting on its website detailed information about how many visits and procedures individual health professionals billed the program for in 2012, and how much they were paid.
    This new trove of data, which covers 880,000 health professionals, adds to a growing body of information available to patients who don’t want to leave choosing a doctor to chance. But to put that information to good use, consumers need to be aware of what is available, what’s missing and how to interpret it.

    April 14, 2014

  • HEY HINK: Hateful bullies attempt to muffle free speech

    Hopefully we agree it should be a fundamental right to voice criticism of any religion you wish. And you should have the right to sing the praises of any religion you choose. If criticism of religion is unjust, feel free to make your best argument to prove it. If criticism is just, don’t be afraid to acknowledge and embrace it. If songs of praise are merited, feel free to join in. If not, feel free to ignore them. But no American should participate in curbing free speech just because expression of religious views makes someone uncomfortable.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results