The Edmond Sun

Opinion

June 7, 2013

HEY HINK: Trading good name for promotion is pitiful

EDMOND — Before we get started, let me say a word about anger management. For years, I was a frequent participant in unprotected road rage between consenting adults. Until my wife Mary pointed out an important common denominator. I assumed the hungrier I got, the ruder the motoring public became. Now, I realize when I get hungry, my “rudeness tolerance index” plummets and I get surly. Now I eat a snack to guard against some (not all) of these “road rage triggers.”

As a corollary, I try to eat something before I watch or read the news. This doesn’t stop me from going “ballistic” sometimes, but I’m convinced a protein bar exerts some level of moderating influence.

This week, researchers from the Carnegie Mellon University and the University of California, San Francisco released a study indicating that research subjects provoked to anger exhibited a smaller rise in heart rate if they simply talked about their feelings. Subjects who became angry and didn’t talk about it demonstrated elevated heart rates and presumably, shorter emotional fuses. According to Karim Kassam, Ph.D, one of the principal researchers from Mellon University, “Essentially, we’re asking people how they’re feeling and finding that doing so has a sizable impact on their cardiovascular response.”

I mention all this anger stuff because I want you to know I’ve had a snack — two in fact — just to be on the safe side. I spent a few minutes meditating and I completely ventilated my feelings before I sat down to write this column.

Now let’s talk about Susan Rice’s promotion to National Security Advisor. The background is well-known. On Sept. 11, 2012, our diplomatic compound in Benghazi, Libya, was overrun in a preplanned attack by Islamic militants affiliated with Al Qaeda. Our ambassador and three other brave Americans died in the attack.

Rice was chosen to be the voice of the U.S. government charged with explaining the situation to the American people. She appeared on five Sunday news programs telling her fellow Americans that the Benghazi tragedy was the result of a demonstration at the compound that got out of hand. She suggested the triggering event was the release of a video regarded by some Islamists as unbearably offensive. The storyline Rice articulated, again and again, was a gross distortion known at the highest levels of the American government to be absolutely bogus.

Giving Rice the benefit of the doubt, here’s what we conclude: She took an oath — like all government employees — to support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States. She did not take a secret oath to pledge her unyielding loyalty to a political party nor to a specific individual. The oath she took committed her fidelity to the United States. Let’s assume she took that oath to heart. Let’s assume she applied her strength, her intellect and her abilities to fulfilling her duties to the American people.

Let’s assume when she went before the cameras that Sunday morning she wasn’t harboring a secret intent to deceive. Let’s assume she told the truth to the best of her abilities. Let’s assume she believed the American people, relying on her for the facts, were receiving the best information their government had to offer at the time. Let’s assume she was duped. She didn’t know she was being used as a tool of deception. She didn’t realize that someone in the administration was perfectly content to allow her to sacrifice her precious reputation in the service of some deceitful agenda. Let’s assume Rice, right along with the rest of us, was “had.”

If she was a guiltless pawn what would a principled person do when she learns the truth? Would she simply shrug her shoulders and stand by with outstretched hand waiting for the “quid pro quo?” Once she realizes she’s been the agent of deception and distortion shouldn’t she do something to clear the record? If Rice believes along with millions of her fellow Americans, that, “A good name is rather to be chosen than great riches,” what steps should she take now that her reputation has been trashed through no fault of her own?

Even if Rice was totally innocent in the first instance, her behavior now is just sad. She appears to be willing to trade her precious reputation for a high profile promotion. This career boost has the unsavory appearance of base compensation for the good name she lost that Sunday. I feel sorry for her. I feel sorry for us all. I guess, all things considered, that’s better than being furious. I’m Hink and I’ll see ya.

 

MIKE HINKLE is an Edmond resident and retired attorney.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

  • The pessimist’s guide to grizzly bears and Earth Day

    This coming Friday, to “celebrate Earth Day,” the Walt Disney Co. will release one of those cutesy, fun-for-all-ages, nature documentaries. “Bears” is about grizzly bears.
    The trailer says, “From DisneyNature comes a story that all parents share. About the love, the joy, the struggle and the strength it takes to raise a family.”
    Talk about your misguided “Hollywood values.” I previously have acknowledged a morbid, unreasonable fear of grizzly bears, stemming from a youth misspent reading grisly grizzly-attack articles in Readers Digest. This fear is only morbid and unreasonable because I live about 1,500 miles from the nearest wild grizzly bear. Still. ...

    April 16, 2014

  • Digging out of the CIA-Senate quagmire

    Last week, the Senate Intelligence Committee, led by Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., voted to declassify parts of its report on the CIA’s rendition, detention and interrogation program. The White House, the CIA and the Senate still have to negotiate which portions of the report will be redacted before it is made public. But this is an important step in resolving the ugly dispute that has erupted between the intelligence committee and the intelligence agency.
    The dispute presents two very serious questions. Was the program consistent with American values and did it produce valuable intelligence? And is effective congressional oversight of secret activities possible in our democracy?

    April 15, 2014

  • Los Angeles Times: Congress extend jobless benefits again

    How’s this for irony: Having allowed federal unemployment benefits to run out in December, some lawmakers are balking at a bill to renew them retroactively because it might be hard to figure out who should receive them. Congress made this task far harder than it should have been, but the technical challenges aren’t insurmountable. Lawmakers should restore the benefits now and leave them in place until the unemployment rate reaches a more reasonable level.

    April 14, 2014

  • Many nations invested in Israel

    Former Israeli Ambassador to the United States Yoram Ettinger recently spoke to a gathering at the Chabad Center for Jewish Life and Learning in Oklahoma City. The event began with a presentation by Rabbi Ovadia Goldman, who told the attendee that the  upcoming Jewish holiday of Passover was an occasion for them to embrace the children of God, which is all of humanity.

    April 14, 2014

  • Coming soon: More ways to get to know your doctor

    Last week, the federal government released a massive database capable of providing patients with much more information about their doctors.
    The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the government agency that runs Medicare, is posting on its website detailed information about how many visits and procedures individual health professionals billed the program for in 2012, and how much they were paid.
    This new trove of data, which covers 880,000 health professionals, adds to a growing body of information available to patients who don’t want to leave choosing a doctor to chance. But to put that information to good use, consumers need to be aware of what is available, what’s missing and how to interpret it.

    April 14, 2014

  • HEY HINK: Hateful bullies attempt to muffle free speech

    Hopefully we agree it should be a fundamental right to voice criticism of any religion you wish. And you should have the right to sing the praises of any religion you choose. If criticism of religion is unjust, feel free to make your best argument to prove it. If criticism is just, don’t be afraid to acknowledge and embrace it. If songs of praise are merited, feel free to join in. If not, feel free to ignore them. But no American should participate in curbing free speech just because expression of religious views makes someone uncomfortable.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results