The Edmond Sun

Opinion

April 17, 2013

Oklahoma on the move

OKLA. CITY — Oklahoma is on the move and people are taking notice. The entrepreneurial spirit that birthed our great state is alive and well in the private sector. As lieutenant governor and as the state’s small business advocate, I have traveled the nation and world aggressively promoting Oklahoma’s business-friendly climate, low cost of living and quality of life. In the first quarter of 2013, 30 company locations announced growth in Oklahoma totaling more than $417 million in new investment, clearly indicating Oklahoma is open for business.   

Each April in Oklahoma, site selectors and business owners from across the nation and overseas visit the state to attend the annual Lt. Governor’s Invitational Turkey Hunt. The hunt, now in its 27th year, is an economic development tool used to generate new business as well as reinvestment in our state. A total of six communities throughout Oklahoma participate in this event, giving guest hunters the opportunity to view Oklahoma in a comfortable atmosphere, benefit from our unique hospitality and experience hunting and the outdoors.

The communities of Alva, Ardmore, Duncan, Hugo, Okemah and Woodward work tirelessly each year to host these business men and women, showcasing their individual communities and giving reasons why Oklahoma is the place to be and the place to invest.

A variety of industries are represented by those invited to the hunt, including but not limited to manufacturing, energy, transportation, aerospace and logistics. The 2013 Lt. Governor’s Invitational Turkey Hunt saw record attendance. Each hunt is uniquely positioned to showcase not only our state but rural Oklahoma specifically.

Throughout the 27 years of the Lt. Governor’s Invitational Turkey Hunt, countless stories have been shared of the new business opportunities in Oklahoma generated by the relationships established as a result of the hunt. As lieutenant governor, I am proud to not only represent Oklahoma but to continually work toward economic growth opportunities that spur us on to future growth.

LT. GOV. TODD LAMB, R-Edmond, may be reached via his website at http://www.ok.gov/ltgovernor/.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results