The Edmond Sun

Opinion

January 3, 2014

Time to get back to the lawful basics

EDMOND — We need to start asking and answering the tough questions. What can we do as a nation to decrease the $17 trillion in debt? To bring a congressional budget process back under control so we can move our states in the right direction? To make our own state budget process transparent so citizens can see every tax dollar?

The argument shouldn’t be about raising the debt ceiling another $1 or $2 trillion dollars — as if that’s small potatoes.

Washington D.C. seems willing to live in an “Alice in Wonderland” scenario where you charge all you can and when you have maxed out your credit limit, you simply ask for another increase on the credit card. After all, the money will come; it always has before.

This year we taxed citizens to a record amount. “What, me worry?”

In the real world — and Oklahomans certainly know this — you have to stop the bleeding. Right now, those in charge in Washington D.C. are just playing politics with the debt. Borrowing more, printing more and anesthetizing the voters so they don’t feel the pain. There is an economic philosophy that says government debt is needed to jumpstart an economy when times are tough. During the last five years since the near meltdown of 2008, the federal government has borrowed roughly $7 trillion just to pay its bills and pump government spending into the economy — and it hasn’t worked.

Now, we are in a hole and there is no surplus “ladder.” No, it’s just more debt as far as the eye can see. Even in our state, there are elected officials calling for more debt in the form of bonds. Make no mistake about it: bond issues are just another form of debt that needs to be paid back by someone.

Now it could be the D.C. career politicians just wanting to dig in our pockets a little deeper. Do just a little more social engineering, tinker with liberty and walk on the ledge a little higher. I say let’s take charge of our future. Why wait?

We have to be honest with ourselves.

Americans have always risen to the occasion to overcome unbelievable odds and this is certainly one of those times. This can be a time of incredible bonding. Each person, family, our neighborhoods, cities, counties and states, will need to band together to solve this crisis.

Oklahomans have shown a great capacity for handling tough times and challenges. We may very well need to lead this country out of the wilderness.

We must have a clear and concise plan that is communicated and understood.

There will be pain, but the pain of recovery is better than the pain of doom.

Leaders must emerge at this perilous moment. We find out what kind of people we have in office during times like these. Will bold and decisive leadership emerge? Time will tell, but I assure you that as Chairman of the House of Representatives States’ Rights Committee, I will leave no stone unturned or any program insulated.

REP. LEWIS MOORE represents District 96.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results