The Edmond Sun

Opinion

October 31, 2012

It’s never too late to start exercising

CNHI News Service — I don’t know about you, but I find it all too easy to sometimes come up with a reason I just can’t exercise on a given day.

I tell myself that my life is too crowded with work and meetings, or that I’m too tired from sleeping poorly the night before. Mind you, if I do exercise I always feel the better for it.

But there is what a scientist might call an “energy barrier” to finding what it takes within myself to go for a swim at noon or a significant walk after work.

I find that as I get older, it’s not easier to come up with the energy to exercise. So in that sense I can sympathize with people who are now in retirement who find it quite a struggle to work up a sweat on a regular basis.

In short, I’m sure it’s easy for older Americans to come up with excuses to avoid daily exercise. And some people do have medical conditions that prevent them from lifting weights or playing tennis.

But it’s also true that most of us, whatever our age, could do better than we do. And the news is that even if you are in retirement, it’s not too late to start to enjoy the good effects of regular exercise. At least that’s the picture painted by a recent study from Sweden reported by the website WebMD.

It was a big study, following 1,800 people for 18 years. People in the study were at least 75 years old when they were enrolled in the program. Half of the participants lived to be 90 years old or older.

Results of the study showed that participants who swam, walked or exercised regularly in other ways lived an average of two years more than those who didn’t. And exercise was the single biggest predictor of how long a person in the study was going to live.

Add in factors like not smoking and having a rich social life, and the study found that elderly people with the healthiest lifestyles lived about 5.5 years longer than those with the worst lifestyles. (The study didn’t include information on diet, a factor that might also make for some significant differences.)

Gisele Wolf-Klein, M.D., of the geriatric education division of the North Shore-LIJ Health System, commented about the study to WebMD.

“It’s been known for a long time that adjusting lifestyle behaviors at any age can be beneficial in terms of health and survival,” she said.

That’s right. Both your health and your very survival can be impacted by working up a sweat each day, and that’s true no matter your age.

Wolf-Klein has one anecdotal example of the good effects of exercise in the elderly. Her mentor was a smoker until he had a massive heart attack after age 70.

“He gave up smoking ‘cold turkey’ after that and began exercising on a stationery bicycle 30 minutes each day,” she said. “He is still doing it at the age of 94.”

No excuses now — let’s get going.

E. KIRSTEN PETERS, a native of the rural Northwest, was trained as a geologist at Princeton and Harvard. This column is a service of the College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences at Washington State University.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results