The Edmond Sun

Opinion

March 22, 2013

AS I SEE IT: Don’t look at ‘underside of things’ too long

OKLA. CITY — “No one likes to look at the underside of things.” That’s a line from a novel I just finished reading. It’s meant to foreshadow the evil and the eerie that the author is about to unfold in his story. It fulfilled its purpose and then it got me to thinking about Sinbad, the cocker spaniel wannabe who went through the last two years of high school with me. Literally “with” me.

Sinbad had a questing nose and — contrary to the quote that brought him to mind — he did like to look at the underside of things.

On a weekly basis he escaped his boundaries and followed my scent to the classroom; to a Rexall Drugstore booth; to the balcony of the Washita Theater and sometimes to a First Baptist Church pew, where he settled down at my feet and commenced to strip away the wads of chewing gum stuck to the underside of my seat.

Remembering the pleasure Sinbad took in his quests caused me to wonder what I might have missed by skimming across the surface of things — leaving the undersides out of sight and therefore out of mind — so I went on an underside quest of my own. A spider-less cobweb clung to the underside of the toe kick in front of the kitchen sink and I left it there. A brittle “Under Penalty of Law this Tag is not to be Removed” warning clung to the underside of an upholstered kitchen chair and I took guilty pleasure in removing it.

I was on my way outside to pry up a garden stone to see what was under it when New York City’s Mayor Bloomberg’s TV rant caught my attention. Something about legislation banning the sale of high-calorie beverages larger than 16 ounces. Nothing was mentioned about more than two 8-ounce sugary drinks, so no need to check the undersides of the cans and bottles inside my fridge. But I did try unsuccessfully to pull out the fridge to peer underneath it. No matter. I have a pretty good idea of what I’d have found there. It wouldn’t have been a pretty sight.

Under the living room recliner I found a sort-of hammock that Saber-the-cat must have fashioned for himself from the chair’s underlining, and I choked back tears over the loss of him. Why would I be through mourning Saber? He’s been gone only three months, and I still get misty eyed over Sinbad’s disappearance almost 50 years ago. I’ll always believe he was dog-napped by out-of-towners attending a basket ball tournament our team was hosting, but ...

Well fine! Now I’m dreary again, and it’s not like I wasn’t warned. Serves me right for looking too long at the underside of things.

MARJORIE ANDERSON is an Edmond resident.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results