The Edmond Sun

Opinion

March 29, 2013

OUR VIEW: Choice is clear

EDMOND — This Tuesday, Edmond residents are asked to go to the polls to choose between incumbent Mayor Charles Lamb and Richard Prawdzienski for the office of mayor. Voters citywide also will be asked to consider whether to retain Nick Massey as its Ward 4 councilmember or select newcomer Shilpa Abbitt, an engineer employed by Devon Energy in Oklahoma City.

Lamb has served on the council for a total of 16 years and is seeking a two-year term as mayor. Massey was appointed a year ago to fulfill the unexpired term of David Miller, who left for an out-of-state work opportunity. This is Massey’s first time to run for public office.

Running for local office is one of the greatest acts in fulfilling an American’s civic duty. Both challengers for the two council seats provided contrast, highlighted issues and most importantly gave voters a choice. It is not easy to  undergo public scrutiny and perform well in candidate forums. We appreciate the effort made by both the challengers in these races because we understand just how daunting it can be to run for public office.

But come Tuesday voters must make a choice for mayor and the Ward 4 City Council seat, which has a four-year term. We recommend choosing experienced leaders who understand how city government operates and is financed. The city needs leaders who understand how to secure a strong and stable financial future for Edmond residents — for those who live here now and for those who are yet to arrive. We need leaders who can find solutions to some of our thorniest issues — tangled traffic, fair development practices and increasing daytime jobs

Becoming a councilmember requires a commitment to improving the community and not just sitting back and saying Edmond’s great now so why change anything? Imagine where we would be now if former Edmond Mayor Carl Reherman and the City Council serving with him had said that and had not taken on the daunting challenge of creating Arcadia Lake in the 1970s. Having vision and securing necessary infrastructure and other public improvements is the hallmark of the type of leaders needed in Edmond’s local government.

The choice on Tuesday should be easy. We already have two leaders serving now on the City Council who meet all of those requirements and more. We wholeheartedly endorse Lamb and Massey for their balanced approaches to government and growth in Edmond. We encourage residents to go the polls before 7 p.m. Tuesday and cast their ballot.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Russell leads in Sun poll

    Polling results of an unscientific poll at www.edmondsun.com show that Steve Russell, GOP candidate for the 5th District congressional seat, is in the lead with 57 percent of the vote ahead of the Aug. 26 runoff election. Thirty readers participated in the online poll.

    July 28, 2014

  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results