The Edmond Sun

Opinion

September 24, 2013

The failed energy promise of the Obama Administration

EDMOND — President Obama just erected yet another roadblock to Keystone XL. He now says the State Department will only approve the 1,200-mile pipeline connecting oil sands in Canada and northern U.S. crude oil to refineries in Texas if it does not significantly boost carbon dioxide emissions.

Obama’s position on the pipeline is increasingly unpopular. In recent weeks, two more Democratic Senators -— North Dakota’s Heidi Heitkamp and Louisiana’s Mary Landrieu — have publicly signaled they support Keystone XL.

The President needs to reconsider his position. Full approval of Keystone XL would generate huge economic returns and put this country on a path to true energy security.

Back in 2011, Obama bemoaned the fact that “politicians of every stripe have promised energy independence, but that promise has so far gone unmet.” He vowed to break that trend.

Approval of Keystone XL would do more to wean America off oil from hostile or unstable nations than any energy project in decades. Yet in the two years since Obama first made the vow, he’s done nothing but drag his feet on the pipeline. At some point, we have to wonder whether the president is putting a narrow political agenda above America’s energy security needs.

It’s estimated that full development of North America’s energy reserves, plus a small contribution from biofuels, could supply all of America’s liquid fuel needs within 12 years. An essential element of that strategy is full approval of Keystone XL.

Keystone XL would deliver 830,000 barrels of oil to American refineries every day. Of that total, roughly 700,000 barrels per day would come from Canada, our close neighbor and staunch ally. That’s about as much crude oil as we currently import from Venezuela.

By itself, Keystone could end our need for oil imports from Oman, Chad, Algeria, and Iraq, altogether. Imports from those countries amount to $70 million sent overseas, daily. With Keystone XL, that money would be redirected to Canada, our largest foreign oil supplier, which is losing almost $15 billion per year because of limited access to global markets for its oil.

Keystone XL also will boost Canadian oil sands development, which could generate demand for U.S. goods and services and add hundreds of thousands of skilled, well-paying jobs in U.S. manufacturing, engineering, construction, and related services. This will add roughly $86 billion to U.S. GDP by 2035, according to the Canadian Energy Research Institute.

As for the domestic economic benefits, building Keystone would create an estimated 20,000 well-paying jobs. By 2035, it’s estimated that the pipeline could support as many as 500,000 jobs.

It’s no surprise, then, that organized labor has been highly critical of Obama’s opposition to the project.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration predicts that despite massive public investments in green energy sources, a scant 13 percent of America’s energy will come from renewables in 2035.

There’s no getting around the fact that America will continue to need energy from traditional sources. The question is, do we want to get that energy from Canada and domestic sources — or do we want to import it from unstable regions? There are also many additional acute environmental problems that come from producing oil in countries with less exacting safety standards and then shipping it half way around the world.

The truth is that Keystone XL has been under regulatory review at the state and federal level for nearly five years. While the environmental impact of a project of this scope should absolutely be considered, Keystone XL’s environmental safety is now beyond reasonable doubt.

There’s just no excuse for delaying construction of the Keystone XL pipeline. Even the 0resident’s own party and supporters are frustrated with his inaction. The time for approval is now.

CHRIS FAULKNER is the CEO of Breitling Energy Companies, based in Dallas.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Free trade on steroids: The threat of the Trans-Pacific Partnership

    Many supporters of the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership, or TPP, trade agreement are arguing that its fate rests on President Obama’s bilateral talks with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in Japan this week. If Japan and the United States can sort out market access issues for agriculture and automobiles, the wisdom goes, this huge deal — in effect, a North American Free Trade Agreement on steroids — can at last be concluded.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Chicago Tribune: If Walgreen Co. moves its HQ to Europe, blame Washington’s tax failure

    The Walgreen Co. drugstore chain got its start nearly a century ago in downstate Dixon, Ill., before moving its corporate headquarters to Chicago and eventually to north suburban Deerfield, Ill.
    Next stop? Could be Bern, Switzerland.
    A group of shareholders reportedly is pressuring the giant retail chain for a move to the land of cuckoo clocks. The reason: lower taxes. Much lower taxes.
    If Walgreen changes its legal domicile to Switzerland, where it recently acquired a stake in European drugstore chain Alliance Boots, the company could save big bucks on its corporate income-tax bill. The effective U.S. income-tax rate for Walgreen, according to analysts at Swiss Bank UBS: 37 percent. For Alliance Boots: about 20 percent.

    April 21, 2014

  • Sulphur a future major tourist destination?

    Greta Garbo says, “I want to be alone,” in the 1932 film “Grand Hotel.” That MGM film starred Garbo, John and Lionel Barrymore, Wallace Beery and a young actress from Lawton named Joan Crawford. It told the stories of several different people who were staying at an exclusive hotel of that name in Berlin Germany.
    It was critically well received and it inspired more recent films such as “Gosford Park” and television shows such as “Downton Abbey” in that it detailed the relationship between powerful and wealthy people and those who served them. The film opened amidst much fanfare and it received the Oscar for best picture in the year of its release.

    April 21, 2014

  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

  • The pessimist’s guide to grizzly bears and Earth Day

    This coming Friday, to “celebrate Earth Day,” the Walt Disney Co. will release one of those cutesy, fun-for-all-ages, nature documentaries. “Bears” is about grizzly bears.
    The trailer says, “From DisneyNature comes a story that all parents share. About the love, the joy, the struggle and the strength it takes to raise a family.”
    Talk about your misguided “Hollywood values.” I previously have acknowledged a morbid, unreasonable fear of grizzly bears, stemming from a youth misspent reading grisly grizzly-attack articles in Readers Digest. This fear is only morbid and unreasonable because I live about 1,500 miles from the nearest wild grizzly bear. Still. ...

    April 16, 2014

  • Digging out of the CIA-Senate quagmire

    Last week, the Senate Intelligence Committee, led by Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., voted to declassify parts of its report on the CIA’s rendition, detention and interrogation program. The White House, the CIA and the Senate still have to negotiate which portions of the report will be redacted before it is made public. But this is an important step in resolving the ugly dispute that has erupted between the intelligence committee and the intelligence agency.
    The dispute presents two very serious questions. Was the program consistent with American values and did it produce valuable intelligence? And is effective congressional oversight of secret activities possible in our democracy?

    April 15, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results