The Edmond Sun

Opinion

June 9, 2014

OTHER VIEW: Los Angeles Times: Hamas now supports the Palestinian Authority. How should the U.S. respond?

LOS ANGELES — The Obama administration has angered Israel by saying that it will continue to work with, and provide assistance to, the Palestinian Authority even after a reconciliation between President Mahmoud Abbas and the Islamist movement Hamas. But the administration makes a persuasive case that, despite having the support of Hamas, the new Palestinian administration consists of moderate officials who recognize Israel’s right to exist and the necessity of a two-state solution.

As Secretary of State John F. Kerry bluntly noted Wednesday: “Hamas is a terrorist organization. It has not accepted the Quartet principles (a reference to a peace initiative launched by the United States, Russia, the European Union and the United Nations). It continues to call for the destruction of Israel.” But Hamas is not a force that can be easily ignored. Since 2007 — a year after it won a majority in elections for the Palestinian parliament — it has controlled the Gaza Strip, while much of the West Bank has been governed by Abbas’ Fatah movement.

That political division has weakened Abbas’ influence, including his ability to negotiate a peace agreement with Israel.

Even as he accepted Hamas’ support, Abbas insisted that negotiations with Israel would remain the responsibility of the Palestine Liberation Organization. (Those talks are in abeyance after the collapse of Kerry’s most recent efforts.)

As for the new Palestinian Cabinet, it is dominated by “technocrats” with no political affiliations whose priority is economic development. Indeed, most of the key officials — including Prime Minister Rami Hamdallah — have served in their positions before. None is affiliated with Hamas.

Israel insists that in courting the support of Hamas, Abbas has aligned himself with terrorists. Given the number of civilians brutally killed by Hamas rockets and suicide bombs, Israel’s concerns are understandable. It worries that the Palestinian Authority’s cooperation with Israel on security in the West Bank will suffer because Abbas is now beholden to Hamas. Not unreasonably, Israel has said that it will hold the Authority responsible for any attacks, whether they originate in the West Bank or Gaza.

Israel is obviously free to frame its own response to the unity government, though it would be self-defeating for it to rush to cut ties with the Palestinian Authority before it’s clear that Abbas isn’t abiding by his assurances. For the U.S., continued aid to the authority — which amounts to $500 million a year — is conditioned on proof that Hamas doesn’t exert “undue influence” over the government. So long as that remains true, the U.S. should continue to support the authority even as it insists that Hamas abandon its rejectionism and renounce terror.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results