The Edmond Sun

Opinion

June 10, 2014

Bergdahl trade is not Benghazi

PHILADELPHIA — Count me among the confounded by the White House handling of Army Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl. With the caveat that there’s still much we don’t know, on the surface it appears we were outnegotiated in the 5:1 swap with the Taliban, particularly in light of the circumstances that gave rise to the soldier’s capture.

Bergdahl is not Benghazi. It was immediately evident that this debate does more than divide along partisan lines when GOP wordsmith Frank Luntz tweeted: “You can’t say you ‘support the troops,’ then argue against negotiations to free Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl from Taliban captivity.” While Luntz was supportive, Democratic Sen. Dianne Feinstein, chair of the Senate Intelligence Committee, criticized the lack of consultation with Congress, only to have conservative Charles Krauthammer opine that such approval was not necessary.

The White House was caught flat-footed by what was a predictable backlash, furthering the perception that this was not thought through. Announcing a deal with the Taliban is the sort of thing you do in a Friday document dump, not in a Rose Garden speech with a father who’s grown a beard to show understanding of the Taliban and boasts “Bismillah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim” — meaning “In the name of Allah, most gracious, most compassionate.” Where was the staff work?

Did the White House know that, according to the Washington Post, a few days prior, Robert Bergdahl had tweeted to a Taliban spokesman and then removed: “I am still working to free all Guantanamo prisoners. God will repay for the death of every Afghan child, amen.”

Did President Obama not know that, according to a June 2012 Rolling Stone story, when Bergdahl had sent his last email home on June 27, 2009, he wrote: “The horror that is America is disgusting,” a missive to which his father replied with a subject line saying: “Obey your conscience!” One wonders what would have been the result had Dad instead said, “Honor your commitment” or “Get some help.” Those aren’t the father/son exchanges that National Security Adviser Susan Rice must have had in mind when telling George Stephanopoulos that Bergdahl “served with honor and distinction.”

And while it’s important that we not convict Bergdahl based upon a magazine story, it’s difficult to dismiss the narrative by Michael Hastings, which suggests that in the early morning hours of June 30, 2009, Bergdahl approached his team leader and asked whether it would cause problems if he left the base with his rifle and night-vision goggles. He was told it would, and then did leave, with water, a knife, his digital camera, and his diary. For 90 days there was an exhaustive search, and his colleagues now suggest that men died while trying to locate Bergdahl, although exactly how many is not clear.

A few days ago, I asked Richard Clarke, formerly a top counterterrorism official, whether the way Bergdahl got into Taliban hands was relevant to today’s debate. Clarke was quick to point out he’s on the outside and not equipped with all the facts but acknowledged he was “a little troubled by this one.”

“Let’s say there was clear evidence someone had defected, then I wouldn’t feel any obligation ... if it’s a clear defection, then I’d be less concerned about getting him back,” Clarke said.

Clarke is right, assuming what’s known today was known to the military when Bergdahl went missing. The president doesn’t see it that way. When asked about the decision during last week’s trip to Poland, he said:

“Regardless of the circumstances, whatever those circumstances may turn out to be, we still get an American soldier back if he’s held in captivity. Period. Full stop. We don’t condition that. And that’s what every mom and dad who sees a son or daughter sent over in the war theater should expect from not just their commander-in-chief but the United States of America.”

I can think of two reasons for him to ignore the “circumstances” surrounding Bergdahl, neither of which assuages my concern over the release of five Taliban leaders: First, that this is part of a larger deal with the Taliban, intended to secure a lasting peace in Afghanistan as our involvement winds down. Second, where the president is intent on closing Guantanamo, and where we haven’t sentenced, much less tried, the detainees, he’s concluded that he may as well get something of value in return for their release, namely the only American POW from Iraq or Afghanistan.

Whatever the true rationale, now that the call’s been made, the right path is for a full investigation to commence. If it’s determined that Bergdahl deserted, he should be prosecuted in a court of military justice. No doubt his five years of captivity would be a mitigating factor in his sentence, but the rule of law demands that the case not end with his return, particularly if men died searching for him.

MICHAEL SMERCONISH writes for The Philadelphia Inquirer, and is host of “Smerconish” on CNN. Readers may contact him at www.smerconish.com.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results