The Edmond Sun

Opinion

October 12, 2012

'Unbelievable' is right

EDMOND — “Unbelievable jobs numbers ... these Chicago guys will do anything ... can’t debate so change numbers.” — Former General Electric CEO Jack Welch, Oct. 5, 2012

 

Unbelievable is the proper word, although it’s not the jobs numbers, reported last Friday, that are unbelievable. What is unbelievable is that someone with Jack Welch’s knowledge and experience would believe (or even insinuate) that the government jobs report was manipulated for political gain.

In reality, the methodology behind the monthly employment situation report released by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics has widespread acceptance among economists across the ideological spectrum. In short, the numbers are as reliable as can reasonably be expected.

This does not mean that the estimates released last Friday are final, as the BLS will regularly revise the numbers in the coming months as more complete data becomes available. Still, those revisions will be driven by statistical reasons, not political ones.

What was lost in all the discussion about the accuracy of the jobs report was that the report wasn’t a very good one. Yes, the unemployment rate fell to 7.8 percent — slightly below the level when President Obama took office. Yet the unemployment rate is arguably the most over-hyped economic statistic because it can decrease even as the economy worsens, and increase as the economy improves.

Furthermore, of the two different surveys reported in the monthly Employment Situation Report, the smallest one — the household survey — is the most volatile. For example, in the last six months the household survey indicates that the monthly change in the number of employed Americans has been -169,000; +422,000; +128,000; -195,000; -119,000; +873,000. It was the +873,000 last month that triggered the surprising drop in the unemployment rate. But, as you can tell from the numbers, the figures for the previous months have been all over.

This is why most economists focus initially on a different statistic from a different survey — a survey of employers — that is much more stable. Over the last six months, the monthly changes in private-sector employment have been +85,000; +116,000; +63,000; +163,000; +97,000; +104,000. In other words: meh.

Of course, August was the 31st consecutive month of private-sector job growth. During this period the economy has added 4.7 million private-sector jobs (not counting the additional 453,000 jobs BLS recently announced it will add to the total in its annual revisions). As a result, in 2011 the economy clocked the largest increase in jobs since the tech-boom of 1999 … and 2012 isn’t far behind.

Still, it wasn’t great. During the last year the U.S. adult population has grown by an average of 141,000 people per month. In the last six months private-sector employment has grown by an average of only 105,000 jobs per month. So, while the economy is growing and jobs are being created, they aren’t being created fast enough. This is a concern.

Of course, the situation could have been a little better. It was more than a year ago that President Obama proposed the American Jobs Act — legislation that according to various economic analyses would have created an additional 1 million jobs. However, the Republican-controlled House of Representatives killed it. We know how to solve the unemployment problem. And we know that Congress won’t do it.

Outrage is appropriate. But unlike with Jack Welch’s irrational rebuke of BLS civil servants, the deserving target of our outrage should be Congress. After all, it was Congress who could have acted to boost the economy. It was Congress who could have stepped in to help hardworking taxpayers and protect America’s families. And it was Congress that said “no.”

Unbelievable.

MICKEY HEPNER is the dean of the College of Business Administration at the University of Central Oklahoma. Hepner serves on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors for The Oklahoma Academy.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results