The Edmond Sun

Opinion

April 14, 2014

Many nations invested in Israel

EDMOND — Former Israeli Ambassador to the United States Yoram Ettinger recently spoke to a gathering at the Chabad Center for Jewish Life and Learning in Oklahoma City. The event began with a presentation by Rabbi Ovadia Goldman, who told the attendee that the  upcoming Jewish holiday of Passover was an occasion for them to embrace the children of God, which is all of humanity.

Ettinger spoke of the ties between Israel and the United States that originated with the pilgrims who analogized their departure from England to the new world to the ancient Hebrews’ flight out of Egypt into the promised land. He reported that there are many places in the U.S. that were named after Jewish communities that were referenced in the Old Testament and that they include Hebron, Jerusalem and Salem.

 He reported that many of the U.S. Special Forces received training in Israel and that he recently spoke with a  member of a U.S. Army Special Forces Unit who told him that his training in Israel prepared him for his tour of duty in Afghanistan.

The U.S. Army College in Leavenworth, Kan., has hosted many Israeli military officers over the last several decades, Ettinger said.

The former ambassador was recently in Fort Worth where the F-16 fighter jet is manufactured and he was told there that many modifications to that aircraft have been in accordance with advice received from Israeli Air Force pilots who fly them in the Middle East.

He also told of a tour he took of a  plant in Chattanooga, Tenn., that manufactures robots that can locate explosive devices and he was advised that the fact that Israel purchases them has resulted in many other nations buying them as well.

Israel’s economy is growing with many hi-tech businesses and many of them are operated by U.S. firms.  

Ettinger reported that there are more than 300 American hi-tech firms doing business in Israel and that IBM has 13 operations there .

The “Sage of Omaha,” Warren Buffett, of Berkshire Investments, made his first overseas investment in the Jewish State in 2006. Eric Schmidt, the CEO of Google, has recently invested there as well, according to Ettinger.

Other nations, including the United Kingdom and Turkey have also invested in Israel, he reported.

Last year, oil and gas deposits were found off of the Mediterranean coast of Israel and the diplomat said that oil and gas firms in Oklahoma could possibly be working with Israel to develop those resources.  

A reception followed Ettinger’s presentation that included wines from Israel. The attendees included Oklahoma State legislators Randy McDaniel, Paul Wesselhoft and  Lee Denney and many other supporters of Israel.

William F. O’Brien is an Oklahoma City attorney.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results