The Edmond Sun

Opinion

September 15, 2011

Government should encourage private-sector job creation

WASHINGTON, D.C. — There has been a lot of talk in Washington lately about jobs and the economy. With national unemployment languishing above 9 percent, it is past time for this conversation. Far too often, I hear people in government talk about what we should do to “create jobs.” To be clear, politicians do not create jobs; they can only create policies that encourage job growth.

When Congress passed the $787 billion stimulus in February 2009, President Obama promised that the unemployment rate would be below 7 percent by September 2011. Instead, the national unemployment rate has increased to 9.1 percent, and our national debt has skyrocketed.

Now the president has presented another multi-billion dollar stimulus plan that relies on the same spending and government-centric tax incentives. These are temporary tax cuts paid for by permanent tax increases. While I applaud the president for making the economy the central focus, I am disappointed that the solutions proposed are the same policies that brought us record-high deficits and protracted economic stagnation.

I believe it is time for a new question, “What is the federal government doing to slow economic growth and why?” There are hundreds of low-cost or no-cost ideas that could get our nation back to work. Allowing companies to move the income they have earned overseas back to the United States would bring more than a trillion dollars of private capital back to the United States. We also could complete our free trade agreements with Columbia, Panama and South Korea, lifting the regulatory burden off community banks enabling them to lend to small businesses. We should move forward with the Keystone Pipeline, expand leasing and permitting for energy exploration, place a two-year moratorium on regulations and stop telling businesses in which states they can operate.

If you really want to “jolt” the economy back to life, we must repeal the Affordable Care Act and lock in marginal tax rates. The stability alone would give confidence to businesses about the financial future and the cost of new employees.

These ideas empower the private sector to grow their business but do not allow politicians to take credit for “job creation.” The president stated last week that he believes his plan could get America back to No. 1, but I believe that America is still No. 1. The problem in our nation is not our people; it is the broken system of centralized control in Washington that believes jobs are created by a select group in big government buildings. It is time to drop the unemployment rate by unleashing business and allowing Americans to get back to work.

REP. JAMES LANKFORD, R-Edmond, represents the 5th Congressional District of Oklahoma. His office may be reached at 202-225-2132.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results