The Edmond Sun

Opinion

August 15, 2012

Obama as car salesman in next job?

WIRE —

It’s never too early to think about your next job, especially if you’re president and unemployment has been over 8 percent for your entire term. So I imagine Barack Obama has probably spent some time contemplating where he could send his resume. Here’s my advice, Mr. President: Forget the stock brokerages. Because inevitably some squinty-eyed little HR person is going to say, “Now, about that speech you made about General Motors ...”

You know, the one in April 2010, when you bragged that the government had done so well at the auto business that, any day now, it would be selling its share of the company. “It won’t be too long before the stock the Treasury is holding in GM could be sold,” you told us. “As essential as it was that we got in, I’m glad to see that we’re getting out.”

Twenty-eight months later, American taxpayers still own 500 million shares of GM, more than a quarter of the company. And the chances of selling them at anything but an enormous loss recede every day. Just to break even on the government’s $50 billion investment in GM, that stock has to sell for about $54 a share. Fat chance.

Six months after Obama’s rosy prediction, the government did indeed put about half its shares of GM on the market and got $33 apiece for them. Since then, GM’s European sales have tanked, its politically correct Chevy Volts have developed a disconcerting propensity for bursting into flames, and the company has been firing executives right and left. For the last nine months, the company’s share price has hovered around $20.

And the financial picture may be about to get worse. Investor’s Business Daily reported recently that GM is increasingly relying on subprime auto loans — that is, loans to customers with sketchy credit — to sell its cars. The auto-loan market, just like the one in housing loans, assigns potential borrowers FICO scores according to their financial history. The general industry rule is that scores under 660 are considered subprime.

From the last quarter of 2010 through the first one of 2012, GM Financial — the company’s lending arm — handed out $7 billion to car buyers with FICO scores under 600. Loans to the highest-risk customers, those with FICO scores under 540, jumped 79 percent. “The subprime market grew as a result of the recession,” a GM spokesman told Investor’s Business Daily. “Our experience, however, is that with proper management they are very good risks.” Yeah, where have we heard that before?

The bottom line is that taxpayers are still on the hook for about $27 billion in bailout money for GM plus an additional $15 billion for Ally Financial, the company financier that used to be known as GMAC. That comes as a surprise to most Americans. What about those heartwarming TV ads in 2010, when GM chairman Ed Whitacre gazed dramatically into the camera and swore that “we have repaid our government loan, in full, with interest, five years ahead of the original schedule”?

It turns out that Whitacre, like the wily care salesman that he is, was concealing the real dimensions of the deal in the fine print. Of the $67 billion government bailout of GM and its lending arm, only about $6.7 billion came in the form of a loan. The rest was invested in GM stock, which these days is barking like a dog. Though President Obama, out on the campaign trail, prefers the phrase “roaring back.”

Maybe he’s got a future in conveying pre-enjoyed automobiles.

Glenn Garvin is a columnist for the Miami Herald, 1 Herald Plaza, Miami, Fla. 33132. Readers may write to him via email at ggarvin@miamiherald.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results