The Edmond Sun

Opinion

June 23, 2014

OUR VIEW: Bring ‘dark money’ into the light

EDMOND — Several statewide races this primary season have tacked toward the negative as no candidate has appeared to have a clear majority ahead of today’s primary voting — particularly in the U.S. Senate unexpired term seat being vacated by Sen. Tom Coburn, R-Muskogee.

But more often than not, it’s not the actual candidates’ campaigns that have delved so easily into half-truths, misdirection and outright lies. No, those ads are attributed to vaguely named 501(c)(4) groups that have gained the term “dark money” groups.

With the Citizens United ruling by the Supreme Court in 2010, corporations gained the ability to spend as much as they want for candidates while individuals are held to $2,300 in contributions per cycle in federal races, meaning individuals can chip in up to $7,900 if a candidate makes a primary election, runoff election and the general election in a campaign. In a state race, individuals cannot give more than $5,000 per election campaign encompassing all three elections.

“Dark” appropriately describes these backroom groups who apparently can say anything they want — whether it’s the truth or not.

Many of these television ads have bordered on defamation of character but there’s no one to hold responsible. These groups do not have to disclose who is contributing funding to them. And therein lies the real problem.

If they want to lambaste the other candidate, that’s fine, but do so in the light of day so that if something does go wrong the people responsible can be held accountable. It’s the morally right thing to do. It’s a pretty simple concept that we learn in elementary school — own your actions and be honest about them. Even Facebook does not readily allow anonymous posting to its social media site. If Facebook can enforce some decorum when people want to make claims we’re pretty sure the government should be able to figure it out.

It wasn’t that many years ago that a municipal election regarding the zoning for the Spring Creek retail area had its own brush with a group financing negative advertising without naming who was paying for it in an effort to sway the vote their way. The City Council was asked to change municipal law to require groups who try to sway Edmond elections to be held more accountable.

The State of Oklahoma since has figured it out and now requires municipalities to enforce certain accountability rules in campaigns with the signing of Senate Bill 1745 this year.

With examples at all levels of government, it’s clear that this issue needs a lot more sunshine exposing dark money groups’ shenanigans. The only way to get there is for voters to inform themselves well, choose the best candidate and ask them to help change the law.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results