The Edmond Sun

Opinion

February 8, 2014

OUR VIEW: Votes needed Tuesday

EDMOND — Voters in the Edmond Public Schools’ District 4 seat will be asked to make a choice Tuesday at the ballot box.

Running for Edmond Board of Education are Cynthia Benson and Stephanie Bills. This is for a five-year term of service on the board and replaces the seat vacated last year by longtime board member George Cohlmia. Bills was appointed by the Board of Education last spring to fulfill the remainder of Cohlmia’s unexpired term.

The Board of Education’s job is to hold the school district’s management team accountable, oversee the district’s budget and policy decisions as well as approving hiring and firing decisions made by management. The board also engages in long-term planning for the district’s growth by executing a plan for bond issues and votes on construction projects.

Both Benson and Bills are qualified for the position of being a board member.

Bills has experience in both public schools and in the CareerTech system, where she is now human resources director for MetroTech. She is a former coach in Edmond, certified to be a principal and is pursuing a superintendent’s certification. She is a longtime educator who understands the classroom and the needs of management. She is an expert in human resources, which is a benefit to a district where 93 percent of its budget goes to salaries.

Benson is a trained dietitian who has taught classes at the University of Oklahoma Health Science Center. She worked for several years in her field before deciding to fully devote her time to her family. Since then, she has been involved at her sons’ school in a number of volunteer capacities.

On paper, Bills looks like the more qualified candidate. However, in meeting with both candidates, we believe that Benson shows the critical thinking skills and analytical ability necessary to serve the Edmond district well. She is concerned about reform fatigue among educators and is open-minded in seeking balanced solutions to many of the district’s problems.

Shrinking state funding and ensuring the implementation of new state laws, especially the social promotion law regarding third-grade reading skills, are thorny issues that will face every Oklahoma school district in the next five years. We need to make sure the best problem solvers are on the Board of Education.

We believe Bills and Benson both have experience and ability to serve well, but we’re intrigued by Benson’s thoughtful analysis of the most critical problems facing the district. She has the time, the passion and energy to serve with distinction and we hope voters will give her a chance to do so.

The most important issue facing registered voters this Tuesday is that they actually go to the polls and vote their conscious. We encourage District 4 voters to cast their ballot for the district’s future.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results