The Edmond Sun

Opinion

February 24, 2014

Obamacare to hurt Oklahoma wage earners

OKLA. CITY — As a businessman, numbers have always been a part of my job — understanding profits, assets and dividends. And to this day, I still look to the numbers to guide the decisions I make as labor commissioner. Recent studies have been released on the effect the Affordable Care Act, commonly referred to as Obamacare, will have on the economy, and the numbers are scary. I agree with 56 percent of Americans that Obamacare is more about controlling people’s lives than improving healthcare.

This month, the Congressional Budget Office released a report that Obamacare may cost our economy 2.5 million jobs by 2024 and in Oklahoma alone, 29,753 jobs could be lost due to Obamacare. This is deeply troubling.

The overhaul of the healthcare system by President Obama has been a failure from the beginning, and the uncertainty that it holds over Oklahoma families is hurting jobs and prosperity. The effects of this law threaten wage earners in Oklahoma and it is my duty as labor commissioner to do what is in the best interests of wage earners.

When Oklahomans become at-risk for losing their jobs, it is time we all take a stand against this law. The long-term effects of this law are becoming more and more evident and the outcome is not looking positive.

Coincidentally, this study released by the CBO comes on the heels of the president’s State of the Union address where he said he would use his executive power to increase minimum wage to $10.10 per hour for government contract workers. Going back to the importance of numbers, let me explain why arbitrarily elevating the minimum wage is bad economic policy.

In today’s economy, a minimum wage increase is not what will boost jobs and economic growth. It will make minimum wage jobs harder to obtain by entry-level workers and it will raise the prices of necessities such as food.

Nearly half of young African American males are unemployed. Increasing minimum wage will lead to fewer entry level jobs and the life skills learned from such jobs. Most self-made millionaires in the U.S. once worked at a minimum wage job. Elevating minimum wage will hurt small businesses and deny millions of Americans their first opportunity to join the workforce. The American dream of prosperity is not created by government edict.

President Obama is entitled to his own opinions, but not to his own facts. The facts are that his programs are killing the creation of new jobs, suffocating small businesses and hurting the poor.

 

MARK COSTELLO, R-Edmond, is Oklahoma labor commissioner. For more information, call his office at 521-6100 or go online to http://www.ok.gov/odol/.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Bangladesh’s sweatshops — a boycott is not the answer

    One year ago this week, the eight-story Rana Plaza garment factory collapsed in Bangladesh’s capital city of Dhaka, killing 1,129 people. The building’s top floors had been added illegally, and their weight caused the lower stories to buckle. Many of the victims were young women who had been sewing low-priced clothes for Western brands, earning a minimum wage of about $9 a week. It was the worst disaster in garment industry history.

    April 24, 2014

  • Loosening constraints on campaign donations and spending doesn’t destroy democracy

    Campaign finance reformers are worried about the future. They contend that two Supreme Court rulings — the McCutcheon decision in March and the 2010 Citizens United decision — will magnify inequality in U.S. politics.
    In both cases, the court majority relaxed constraints on how money can be spent on or donated to political campaigns. By allowing more private money to flow to campaigns, the critics maintain, the court has allowed the rich an unfair advantage in shaping political outcomes and made “one dollar, one vote” (in one formulation) the measure of our corrupted democracy.
    This argument misses the mark for at least four reasons.

    April 23, 2014

  • The top 12 government programs ever

    Which federal programs and policies succeed in being cost-effective and targeting those who need them most? These two tests are obvious: After all, why would we spend taxpayers' money on a program that isn't worth what it costs or helps those who do not need help?

    April 23, 2014

  • Free trade on steroids: The threat of the Trans-Pacific Partnership

    Many supporters of the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership, or TPP, trade agreement are arguing that its fate rests on President Obama’s bilateral talks with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in Japan this week. If Japan and the United States can sort out market access issues for agriculture and automobiles, the wisdom goes, this huge deal — in effect, a North American Free Trade Agreement on steroids — can at last be concluded.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Chicago Tribune: If Walgreen Co. moves its HQ to Europe, blame Washington’s tax failure

    The Walgreen Co. drugstore chain got its start nearly a century ago in downstate Dixon, Ill., before moving its corporate headquarters to Chicago and eventually to north suburban Deerfield, Ill.
    Next stop? Could be Bern, Switzerland.
    A group of shareholders reportedly is pressuring the giant retail chain for a move to the land of cuckoo clocks. The reason: lower taxes. Much lower taxes.
    If Walgreen changes its legal domicile to Switzerland, where it recently acquired a stake in European drugstore chain Alliance Boots, the company could save big bucks on its corporate income-tax bill. The effective U.S. income-tax rate for Walgreen, according to analysts at Swiss Bank UBS: 37 percent. For Alliance Boots: about 20 percent.

    April 21, 2014

  • Sulphur a future major tourist destination?

    Greta Garbo says, “I want to be alone,” in the 1932 film “Grand Hotel.” That MGM film starred Garbo, John and Lionel Barrymore, Wallace Beery and a young actress from Lawton named Joan Crawford. It told the stories of several different people who were staying at an exclusive hotel of that name in Berlin Germany.
    It was critically well received and it inspired more recent films such as “Gosford Park” and television shows such as “Downton Abbey” in that it detailed the relationship between powerful and wealthy people and those who served them. The film opened amidst much fanfare and it received the Oscar for best picture in the year of its release.

    April 21, 2014

  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results