The Edmond Sun

Opinion

June 7, 2013

AS I SEE IT: Some birthdays outdo others

EDMOND — The pressure is on! I can’t — not throughout the rest of my lifetime — live up to the flattering messages Hallmark printed on the birthday cards I’ve been bringing in from the mailbox all week ... not even if the zap of a magic wand allowed me to start this marvelous life over again. Certainly not the parts that friends and loved ones underlined.

I have to admit I’m especially fond of the balloon card that tells me I never seem to get older. Hallmark lied to the million or more of us who received that card, but who’s counting? On the off chance they’re right, last August’s Blepharoplasty might have been worth what it put me through.

To no one’s surprise, four of my birthday cards feature cute pups, one of which bears four precious dachshunds plus a fifth who professes that “four out of five Dachs agree ... you look great.” No more treats for Su-the-weenie-dog if she’s the dissenter

Various underlinings inside my birthday cards indicate that I’m a fighter, an encourager, stylish, wonderful, fashionable, fun and unique — the latter of which I prefer to mean one-of-a-kind rather than odd — and one friend promises that when I no longer remember my age, that she won’t remember either. Only one reference to my shoe fetish, and I’d like to thank the rest of you for not mentioning it. The PT took my high-heeled shoes away two years ago, and I’m still suffering separation anxiety.

The birthday cards I send are generally of the “We’re-in-this-together, ladies” sort of thing, sometimes snide but hilariously and universally applicable to the fairer sex of a certain age (if the PCs will let me say that). Not one of the cards I received this year is like that, and I’m wondering if I was the only one who appreciated the flippant ones I’ve sent over the years.

Mixed in with every year’s batch of birthday cards are the surgically sterile Many Happy Returns of the Day sort of thing that the personnel who work for my insurance agent, my CPA and my investment adviser pull up out of their computers on a yearly basis. In a bad year I value those too. Sometimes it’s just good to have your ability to breathe in and out validated.

But this wouldn’t be one of those years. I’ve been carded and gifted, flowered and fed, entertained to exhaustion and spoiled rotten to the point that I pout when FedEx pulls up to the curb and drops off a package at someone else’s door.

Well it’s over now, and it will be over until 2014. This year I’m telling whoever asks that I’m 18 and dyslexic. I intend to wear that deceit thin for the next six years, but in 2020 — if I can remember — I’ll have to start telling the truth.

MARJORIE ANDERSON is an Edmond resident.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results