The Edmond Sun

Opinion

May 11, 2013

Legislative session delivers pro-growth policies that move Oklahoma forward

OKLA. CITY — With a budget deal reached and a flurry of important legislation ready to be signed into law, it is clear that the 2013 legislative session will be a constructive, even historic, time for lawmakers.

On three major fronts, legislative leaders and I have made substantial progress on policies that will bring more good-paying, high-quality jobs to Oklahoma: reducing the state’s income tax, overhauling the workers’ compensation system and addressing the state’s long-term infrastructure needs.

Our income tax reduction plan lowers the state’s top tax rate by 0.25 percent, to 5 percent, starting in 2015, and lowers that rate even further, to 4.85 percent, the following year. Once fully realized, our tax cut will pump more than $200 million a year back into the private sector. It is a responsible, meaningful tax cut that will let Oklahoma families keep more of their hard-earned money while spurring job growth and business expansion in Oklahoma.

Additionally, the Legislature has worked with me to pass an overhaul of our workers’ compensation system. For decades, Oklahoma has had one of the most expensive and inefficient systems in the country, a constant obstacle for business owners looking to expand operations or create more jobs. Legislation passed this year will completely overhaul and replace that system, dramatically reducing costs to businesses while still treating injured workers fairly.

Finally, we have passed legislation to enact a long-term infrastructure plan to address the state’s many infrastructure needs, including repair and refurbishment of our crumbling state Capitol.

All of these are important reform efforts that will be complimented by this year’s budget deal, a smart, fiscally conservative blueprint for state spending that provides targeted increases in resources for priorities like education, healthcare, child welfare and infrastructure.

Delivering additional resources for education, in particular, continues to be a priority that is reflected in the budget-making process. Nothing is more important to Oklahoma’s long-term economic success than building a highly skilled, well-educated workforce, and that requires good schools.

To support and improve our public schools, this year’s budget agreement includes more than $120 million in increased education funding, money that will be used by K-12 schools to support reform efforts and increase classroom resources. The additional funds also will be used by universities and career technology centers to support the goal of awarding more college degrees and career readiness certificates.

The budget agreement also includes funding increases for mental health programs, Medicaid services, infant mortality reduction initiatives and a number of other priorities. It is, however, a plan that largely holds the line on spending growth, asking our state agencies to focus on increasing their productivity and operating more efficiently and effectively.

This year’s budget, coupled with a major income tax cut and other reforms, reflects a commitment to pro-growth, conservative policies that will build a stronger and more prosperous Oklahoma. The 2013 legislative session will be remembered as a remarkably productive season that will contribute significantly to our state’s economic growth and ever-improving quality of life.

GOV. MARY FALLIN, R-Edmond, may be reached via her website at www.ok.gov/governor/.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Loosening constraints on campaign donations and spending doesn’t destroy democracy

    Campaign finance reformers are worried about the future. They contend that two Supreme Court rulings — the McCutcheon decision in March and the 2010 Citizens United decision — will magnify inequality in U.S. politics.
    In both cases, the court majority relaxed constraints on how money can be spent on or donated to political campaigns. By allowing more private money to flow to campaigns, the critics maintain, the court has allowed the rich an unfair advantage in shaping political outcomes and made “one dollar, one vote” (in one formulation) the measure of our corrupted democracy.
    This argument misses the mark for at least four reasons.

    April 23, 2014

  • The top 12 government programs ever

    Which federal programs and policies succeed in being cost-effective and targeting those who need them most? These two tests are obvious: After all, why would we spend taxpayers' money on a program that isn't worth what it costs or helps those who do not need help?

    April 23, 2014

  • Free trade on steroids: The threat of the Trans-Pacific Partnership

    Many supporters of the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership, or TPP, trade agreement are arguing that its fate rests on President Obama’s bilateral talks with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in Japan this week. If Japan and the United States can sort out market access issues for agriculture and automobiles, the wisdom goes, this huge deal — in effect, a North American Free Trade Agreement on steroids — can at last be concluded.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Chicago Tribune: If Walgreen Co. moves its HQ to Europe, blame Washington’s tax failure

    The Walgreen Co. drugstore chain got its start nearly a century ago in downstate Dixon, Ill., before moving its corporate headquarters to Chicago and eventually to north suburban Deerfield, Ill.
    Next stop? Could be Bern, Switzerland.
    A group of shareholders reportedly is pressuring the giant retail chain for a move to the land of cuckoo clocks. The reason: lower taxes. Much lower taxes.
    If Walgreen changes its legal domicile to Switzerland, where it recently acquired a stake in European drugstore chain Alliance Boots, the company could save big bucks on its corporate income-tax bill. The effective U.S. income-tax rate for Walgreen, according to analysts at Swiss Bank UBS: 37 percent. For Alliance Boots: about 20 percent.

    April 21, 2014

  • Sulphur a future major tourist destination?

    Greta Garbo says, “I want to be alone,” in the 1932 film “Grand Hotel.” That MGM film starred Garbo, John and Lionel Barrymore, Wallace Beery and a young actress from Lawton named Joan Crawford. It told the stories of several different people who were staying at an exclusive hotel of that name in Berlin Germany.
    It was critically well received and it inspired more recent films such as “Gosford Park” and television shows such as “Downton Abbey” in that it detailed the relationship between powerful and wealthy people and those who served them. The film opened amidst much fanfare and it received the Oscar for best picture in the year of its release.

    April 21, 2014

  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results