The Edmond Sun

Opinion

May 17, 2013

Americans deserve the truth on Benghazi

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Lately, the media has been consumed by the controversies surrounding the White House. Among these controversies is the horrific terrorist attack on the United States’ diplomatic compound in Benghazi that took place Sept. 11, 2012. As more people come forward with additional information regarding the attack on the consulate, many Americans, including myself, are still asking for the truth.

The Obama Administration and the State Department have been less than forthcoming with key information on Benghazi and recent information points toward a major cover-up.

Benghazi was no minor attack, as it claimed the lives of four innocent Americans, including Christopher Stevens, who served as the U.S. Ambassador to Libya. The State Department first claimed the attack was a spontaneous street demonstration protesting an anti-Muslim YouTube video that had been released. It is becoming increasingly evident that this was not the case.

There have been many disconnects between the Administration and the State Department’s stories, and this causes grave concern to me. There are still many unanswered questions that must come to light. To help disclose the truth, five separate House committees are conducting investigations into the Benghazi attack. They are all working to uncover any information the Administration and the State Department are trying to withhold.

I support all current initiatives, but also believe it is necessary to establish a select committee to exclusively devote all of its resources to unveiling the truth about Benghazi. I have co-sponsored, H. Res. 36, which establishes a select committee to investigate and report the attack. This resolution would allow the select committee to report to the House of Representatives on information, including any requests for additional security at the consulate and a definitive timeline of the events. It would permit further investigation on how the agencies responded and the actions taken to deal with the attack. Additionally, this committee would investigate any improper conduct by officials relating to Benghazi and allow them to address other relevant issues.

I am pleased to see House Republicans taking initiative and working to uncover the facts on the attack. There is no excuse for the negligence that occurred in Benghazi on Sept. 11, and those responsible for the deaths of four Americans need to be held accountable. I will continue to monitor the situation and do all I can as Oklahoma’s Third District congressman to make sure the truth is revealed. The American people deserve a solid explanation.

REP. FRANK LUCAS represents Oklahoma’s Third Congressional District. He may be reached by calling his Yukon office at 373-1958 or his Washington, D.C., office at 202-225-5565.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results