The Edmond Sun

Opinion

February 24, 2014

HOUSE DISTRICT 31: Giving up power provides new road map

GUTHRIE — As a Guthrie city councilman, I participated in the important process of hiring a city manager. As councilpersons we knew this was one of our most important duties and the vote to hire must be made with great deliberation. After all, the new city manager would take control of a multi-million dollar organization.

We sorted through the résumés of the many applicants, reviewed their credentials and utilized a multi-step hiring process designed to discover the best candidates.

Once hired, the city manager would need to come before the council to receive approval for his actions. In this way, the city benefited from both the professional management of the city manager and a transparent public vote by the council.

As a member of the House of Representatives, I would expect the House would use a similar deliberative process for managing the $17 million given to the House of Representatives to spend each year. Unfortunately, that is not the case.

Management of the House resides within sole authority of the Speaker of the House.

He hires the chief of staff at his discretion, sets policy and is the sole authority for approving the policy and expenditures from the $17 million budget. This decision-making process is completely within the domain of one person. Any deliberative process isn’t readily exposed to the light of public purview and little keeps the Speaker from capricious and arbitrary decision making, or worse, political retaliation against his enemies, real or perceived. For years, House Speakers have leveraged this tremendous power to reward their friends and supporters while punishing their opponents.

The Speaker of the House is not elected through transparent due process but simply through a secret ballot of the political group that has the most members of the House. Over the years I have observed seven of these elections. Not once do I recall the Speaker’s ability to manage a multi-million dollar budget as being a reason for why one candidate should be elected instead of another. The fact that the winning candidate will be responsible for spending $17 million a year doesn’t seem to factor into the campaign but simply remains an afterthought subjected to politics of the Speaker’s election.

The reader can only imagine the fear that goes through the mind of a House member as he tries to figure out who to give his secret vote for the very powerful position of Speaker. The pressure on those members is unbelievable.

It’s a very bad process and it needs reform.

To that end, former House Speaker T.W. Shannon sought to disperse the power of the Speaker by creating a Governance Committee. Ideally, once fully evolved, the bipartisan committee would meet in public, use best hiring practices to hire a chief of staff to manage the House, set policy, create the budget and approve all claims much like a City Council governs the policies and budget for a city. This would take place through public and transparent voting for which the members of the committee could be held accountable.

This also would take some of the politics out of the electing of the Speaker as the committee process would provide a layer of protection for those who voted for the losing candidate.

Shannon’s Governance Committee is still in its infancy. It hasn’t been officially empowered according to House rules. However, it has been impaneled and hopefully with the continued support of House leadership will quickly evolve and officially assume the power of operating the House.

Through Shannon’s willingness to give up his power as Speaker he wrote the roadmap for the reform of House governance. It’s now our responsibility to follow this plan.

REP. JASON MURPHEY, R-Guthrie, represents House District 31, which encompasses all of Logan County and a portion of northern Edmond. He may be reached via email at jason.murphey@okhouse.gov.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

  • The pessimist’s guide to grizzly bears and Earth Day

    This coming Friday, to “celebrate Earth Day,” the Walt Disney Co. will release one of those cutesy, fun-for-all-ages, nature documentaries. “Bears” is about grizzly bears.
    The trailer says, “From DisneyNature comes a story that all parents share. About the love, the joy, the struggle and the strength it takes to raise a family.”
    Talk about your misguided “Hollywood values.” I previously have acknowledged a morbid, unreasonable fear of grizzly bears, stemming from a youth misspent reading grisly grizzly-attack articles in Readers Digest. This fear is only morbid and unreasonable because I live about 1,500 miles from the nearest wild grizzly bear. Still. ...

    April 16, 2014

  • Digging out of the CIA-Senate quagmire

    Last week, the Senate Intelligence Committee, led by Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., voted to declassify parts of its report on the CIA’s rendition, detention and interrogation program. The White House, the CIA and the Senate still have to negotiate which portions of the report will be redacted before it is made public. But this is an important step in resolving the ugly dispute that has erupted between the intelligence committee and the intelligence agency.
    The dispute presents two very serious questions. Was the program consistent with American values and did it produce valuable intelligence? And is effective congressional oversight of secret activities possible in our democracy?

    April 15, 2014

  • Los Angeles Times: Congress extend jobless benefits again

    How’s this for irony: Having allowed federal unemployment benefits to run out in December, some lawmakers are balking at a bill to renew them retroactively because it might be hard to figure out who should receive them. Congress made this task far harder than it should have been, but the technical challenges aren’t insurmountable. Lawmakers should restore the benefits now and leave them in place until the unemployment rate reaches a more reasonable level.

    April 14, 2014

  • Many nations invested in Israel

    Former Israeli Ambassador to the United States Yoram Ettinger recently spoke to a gathering at the Chabad Center for Jewish Life and Learning in Oklahoma City. The event began with a presentation by Rabbi Ovadia Goldman, who told the attendee that the  upcoming Jewish holiday of Passover was an occasion for them to embrace the children of God, which is all of humanity.

    April 14, 2014

  • Coming soon: More ways to get to know your doctor

    Last week, the federal government released a massive database capable of providing patients with much more information about their doctors.
    The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the government agency that runs Medicare, is posting on its website detailed information about how many visits and procedures individual health professionals billed the program for in 2012, and how much they were paid.
    This new trove of data, which covers 880,000 health professionals, adds to a growing body of information available to patients who don’t want to leave choosing a doctor to chance. But to put that information to good use, consumers need to be aware of what is available, what’s missing and how to interpret it.

    April 14, 2014

  • HEY HINK: Hateful bullies attempt to muffle free speech

    Hopefully we agree it should be a fundamental right to voice criticism of any religion you wish. And you should have the right to sing the praises of any religion you choose. If criticism of religion is unjust, feel free to make your best argument to prove it. If criticism is just, don’t be afraid to acknowledge and embrace it. If songs of praise are merited, feel free to join in. If not, feel free to ignore them. But no American should participate in curbing free speech just because expression of religious views makes someone uncomfortable.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results