The Edmond Sun

Opinion

February 25, 2014

Sidewalk chalk can earn an artist money

ALTUS — The name “Banksy” is used by a mysterious street artist from the United Kingdom who frequently comes to the United States to draw in public places on walls and sidewalks. Banksy has been to New York City and New Orleans and in recent years his reported presence in those communities resulted in a what appeared to be treasure hunts that were covered by the media in which groups of people went out and searched for the work he had done.  

When his often whimsical visual creations are found, people with cell phone cameras materialize at the site to record them before they are washed away by clean-up crews.

As chronicled in a recent article in the New York Times, visitors to one of Banksy’s images in Manhattan found it encased in plexiglass in an effort to preserve it. The New York Times reporter also marveled at the fact that Banksy has managed to keep his identity secret despite the popularity of his work.

There have also been reports of Banksy working in smaller American communities and students of his art have recently been asked to ascertain if drawings done in those places could have been made by him.  

Like many successful artists, Banksy has spawned imitators, some of whom use social media such as instagram and twitter to publicize their etchings on public places. Some of those images are now found on the walls of art galleries in New York City and other  locales.  

One such artist uses the name “Hanksy” and draws on walls and sidewalks images of people and animals. It is possible that Banksy and the other street artists that he has inspired are responsible for the popularity of events such as the “Walkin’ on Chalk” gathering that will be held in the town square of Altus April 13.

 According to Amy Jo Cobb of the Altus Main Street Association, which is hosting the  gathering, artists of various ages will pay $5 and will then draw in chalk on the sidewalks of the square. Judges will award cash prizes in several different categories.

The event has been held for several years and each year there are more participants, Cobb reports. The event will also include banners that are made by students at Altus High School that will be on buildings on the square and will also be judged. The photos of some of the drawings that were done last year that are featured on the Altus Main Street website are indicative of some of the unheralded artistic talent that are found in Oklahoma’s smaller communities and it may be that some of those works will make there way to art galleries devoted to street art via cell phone images.

William F. O’Brien is an Oklahoma City attorney.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results