The Edmond Sun

Opinion

April 8, 2013

Obama’s energy policy prevents economic growth

WASHINGTON, D.C. — If only President Obama would take his approach to energy production and apply it to the national debt, we’d be down to 2007 levels in no time. According to a new report from the nonpartisan Congressional Research Service, his administration’s policies have caused production on federal lands to plummet.

Although the president likes to claim that production of oil and natural gas has increased during his tenure, the growth driving the current energy boom has occurred entirely on non-federal lands. On federal lands subject to government control, it’s a different story. Between 2010 and 2012, oil production on federal lands fell by more than 23 percent to levels lower than those in 2007. For natural gas, the decline was 33 percent since 2007, while private lands experienced a 40 percent increase over the same period. Next time President Obama touts his energy record, it’s worth keeping in mind that the federal share of oil production has dropped from 31 percent to 26 percent on his watch while the federal share of natural gas production has been cut almost in half — from 28 percent to 16 percent. Meanwhile, gas prices in February increased for more than 30 days straight, reaching almost record highs for the usually stable winter season.

In addition to outright bans on drilling in promising locations like the Outer Continental Shelf, the Obama administration has limited or delayed drilling everywhere else. The CRS report reveals the average time to process a federal drilling permit application is now 307 days — a 41 percent jump.

And then there’s the Keystone XL pipeline. In March, yet another environmental study concluded that the pipeline from Canada to the Gulf Coast would be environmentally safe. In what a former U.S. ambassador to Canada dubbed “the longest permitting process in the history of the world,” this most recent State Department study is the fourth in four years to affirm that the pipeline is safe. It is also popular. Every governor of the six states — including Oklahoma — through which it would pass are onboard, and 70 percent of the American people support the project. According to the House Energy and Commerce Committee, construction and operation of Keystone would create more than 20,000 direct jobs and 100,000 indirect jobs and carry nearly a million additional barrels of oil per day to U.S. refineries. President Obama’s opposition is the only thing standing in the way of these jobs, energy and revenue, yet he still refuses to approve the project.

The House Republican budget plan recognizes the enormously positive impact Keystone will have on the economy and job creation, and immediate approval of the pipeline is a centerpiece of our budget. Rather than taking credit for increased energy production he did not create, President Obama earn a genuine achievement for energy independence and job creation by approving the Keystone pipeline right away.

U.S. REP. TOM COLE, R-Moore, represents Oklahoma’s 4th Congressional District.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results