The Edmond Sun

Opinion

May 28, 2013

IRS targeting conservatives is political discrimination

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Recently, it has come to light that the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) unfairly targeted conservative individuals and groups who were seeking tax exempt status for their non-profit organizations. This revelation is deeply concerning to me, as well as many other Americans, and we are all simply demanding the facts.

On May 14, the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration (TIGTA) released a report that revealed IRS employees used words or phrases including “tea party,” “patriots,” “9/12,” “we the people,” and “take back the country,” to flag tax exempt applications for extra scrutiny. Soon after, we found out the IRS had knowledge of such activities as early as 2011. The thought that a government agency would single out taxpayers based on political affiliation is, to say the least, appalling to me. I was also disappointed when the Obama Administration acknowledged it knew of the tax agency’s actions during the 2012 election. This proves an extreme case of negligence on the part of the Administration and the IRS.

There are investigations currently being conducted by the House Committee on Ways and Means and the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. Lois Lerner, the IRS director of tax-exempt organizations, was recently questioned at a House Oversight hearing where she pleaded the Fifth Amendment and was less than forthcoming with relevant information on the IRS’s acts of political discrimination stating, "I have done nothing wrong," in her opening testimony. I am pleased hearings are being conducted, however many more questions remain, including how taxpayers were affected by the actions of the IRS.

As the investigations continue, the Ways and Means Committee has launched a site where those affected by the IRS can share their story. If you have witnessed any kind of political discrimination by the IRS, I urge you to fill out a form at waysandmeans.house.gov/irsinvestigation. Sharing this information will help the Committee identify and retrieve key information and make sure nothing like this ever happens again.

This is a serious issue that affects all American citizens, regardless of political affiliation. I will continue to work with my colleagues in the House to uncover the facts.

REP. FRANK LUCAS, R-Oklahoma, represents the Third Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives. He may be reached by calling his Yukon office at 373-1958 or his Washington, D.C., office at 202-225-5565.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results