The Edmond Sun

Opinion

November 6, 2013

Let’s start where we can agree

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Political opinions aside, it is clear that our economy is broken and that our debt is growing at an alarming rate. In fact, the bipartisan Congressional Budget Office recently called our situation “unsustainable indefinitely.” The entire nation was reminded and awakened to this grave reality during the past several weeks — first with the lapse in appropriated funds that caused shutdown and second with the debt ceiling deadline that, without action, would have resulted in default.

While both sides eventually agreed on a short-term funding measure to reopen the government and protect the full faith and credit of the United States, it wasn’t the long-term solution that our country hoped for or still needs. The American people long for leaders in Washington to set the example of working together. Instead, we have grown accustomed to living crisis to crisis, relying on short-term fixes that allow our debt to keep rising with no end in sight. In fact, this bad habit of not passing an actual budget through both chambers has been going on since 2009.

Fortunately, along with the funding agreement, lawmakers approved the formation of a budget conference committee to reconcile the two very different budgets of the House and Senate. As one of the House Republican conferees, I am encouraged by the opportunity to negotiate real reforms and hope we can work together to find common ground.

Now the challenges we face on this committee are significant. The task ahead will not be easy and cannot be taken lightly. But as I’ve said before, if we have any chance at a solution, we need to start where we agree. We also need to realize that negotiations don’t and shouldn’t end in this committee. Rather, the discussion should be the starting point that encourages lawmakers and the president to acknowledge and address our fiscal challenges.

The president and House Republicans agree that we need to reform entitlements. And both agree that there are pro-growth policies that would yield additional revenue to the federal government without raising tax rates. Working together, we can find common ground that will enable us to reduce or even eliminate the impact of the sequester and continue to lower the deficit.

I’ve been quoted saying that “revenue should be on the table,” and I believe that it should but not in the way some have suggested. More revenue doesn’t and shouldn’t mean higher taxes. I think tax rates are already extraordinarily high for hardworking American families, but there are alternative ways to generate revenue and grow our economy. Policies could include repatriation of corporate profits from overseas, expanded oil and gas exploration both offshore and on federal land, and the sale of federal assets — just to name a few.

Beyond reforms that grow the economy, the committee should set forth a path that allows for expedited consideration of a tax reform package. It has been more than 25 years since we have taken a comprehensive look at our tax code. In that time, the fundamental nature of our economy has changed. It makes sense for our tax code to now reflect the priorities of the century in which we now live.

While Republicans maintained their majority in the House in the last election, Democrats retained control of the Senate and White House. Sadly, “compromise” has become a dirty word in Washington, and it has prevented lawmakers from performing the basic functions of the jobs to which they were elected. Whether we like it or not, compromise is necessary in divided government. Otherwise, the American people are the ones who lose.

It’s time to end the common place habit of relying solely on short-term funding agreements and actually pass a budget.

U.S. REP. TOM COLE, R-Moore, represents Oklahoma’s 4th Congressional District.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Free trade on steroids: The threat of the Trans-Pacific Partnership

    Many supporters of the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership, or TPP, trade agreement are arguing that its fate rests on President Obama’s bilateral talks with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in Japan this week. If Japan and the United States can sort out market access issues for agriculture and automobiles, the wisdom goes, this huge deal — in effect, a North American Free Trade Agreement on steroids — can at last be concluded.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Chicago Tribune: If Walgreen Co. moves its HQ to Europe, blame Washington’s tax failure

    The Walgreen Co. drugstore chain got its start nearly a century ago in downstate Dixon, Ill., before moving its corporate headquarters to Chicago and eventually to north suburban Deerfield, Ill.
    Next stop? Could be Bern, Switzerland.
    A group of shareholders reportedly is pressuring the giant retail chain for a move to the land of cuckoo clocks. The reason: lower taxes. Much lower taxes.
    If Walgreen changes its legal domicile to Switzerland, where it recently acquired a stake in European drugstore chain Alliance Boots, the company could save big bucks on its corporate income-tax bill. The effective U.S. income-tax rate for Walgreen, according to analysts at Swiss Bank UBS: 37 percent. For Alliance Boots: about 20 percent.

    April 21, 2014

  • Sulphur a future major tourist destination?

    Greta Garbo says, “I want to be alone,” in the 1932 film “Grand Hotel.” That MGM film starred Garbo, John and Lionel Barrymore, Wallace Beery and a young actress from Lawton named Joan Crawford. It told the stories of several different people who were staying at an exclusive hotel of that name in Berlin Germany.
    It was critically well received and it inspired more recent films such as “Gosford Park” and television shows such as “Downton Abbey” in that it detailed the relationship between powerful and wealthy people and those who served them. The film opened amidst much fanfare and it received the Oscar for best picture in the year of its release.

    April 21, 2014

  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

  • The pessimist’s guide to grizzly bears and Earth Day

    This coming Friday, to “celebrate Earth Day,” the Walt Disney Co. will release one of those cutesy, fun-for-all-ages, nature documentaries. “Bears” is about grizzly bears.
    The trailer says, “From DisneyNature comes a story that all parents share. About the love, the joy, the struggle and the strength it takes to raise a family.”
    Talk about your misguided “Hollywood values.” I previously have acknowledged a morbid, unreasonable fear of grizzly bears, stemming from a youth misspent reading grisly grizzly-attack articles in Readers Digest. This fear is only morbid and unreasonable because I live about 1,500 miles from the nearest wild grizzly bear. Still. ...

    April 16, 2014

  • Digging out of the CIA-Senate quagmire

    Last week, the Senate Intelligence Committee, led by Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., voted to declassify parts of its report on the CIA’s rendition, detention and interrogation program. The White House, the CIA and the Senate still have to negotiate which portions of the report will be redacted before it is made public. But this is an important step in resolving the ugly dispute that has erupted between the intelligence committee and the intelligence agency.
    The dispute presents two very serious questions. Was the program consistent with American values and did it produce valuable intelligence? And is effective congressional oversight of secret activities possible in our democracy?

    April 15, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results