The Edmond Sun

Opinion

February 18, 2014

Actor’s convention may sprout up in Oklahoma

OKLA. CITY — Victor Perillo is a former Hollywood talent agent who has a vision of creating what he calls a “National Actor Convention” in the state of Oklahoma that would provide a venue for acting students from around the nation to display their talent in an annual three-day event.

At the gathering, the students acted in a variety of productions at several different venues that would includee situation comedies, children’s shows, documentaries and various types of dramas. The students who participate at the convention were selected after auditioning for a place in it.

Producers, agents and casting directors who work in film and television production were invited to the convention and were able to view rehearsed scenes in the areas that are of interest to them.

Perillo, who was an agent for several decades who has written a book about acting, believes that such a gathering would allow talented actors who have attended Oklahoma and other states colleges and universities to display their work to those who make films and television shows.   

He asserts that such a convention could make Oklahoma an important entertainment venue and would result in more movies and television shows being made in the state.

 Like many people, Perillo, who also produced several made-for-TV movies, deplores the reality television shows that are so prevalent at this time and speaks fondly of the days when the television airwaves carried shows such as “Playhouse 90,” “Twilight Zone,” “I Love Lucy,” “All in the Family” and other productions that featured talented actors who would go on to play starring roles in movies.

Perillo believes that there is an untapped reservoir of talent in Oklahoma and other states of performers who could  bring quality drama and comedy back to television. He envisions the convention being the subject of a documentary film with the makers paying for the right to make it.  

The event would also be financially supported by national organizations such as the National Endowment for the Arts and a consortiumof theater departments of local colleges and universities.

 The former agent reports that he has met with Oklahoma Lt. Gov. Scott Lamb, who has expressed an interest in his proposal and has indicated he is willing to support it.

If Perillo’s plans come to fruition, an annual actor’s convention in Oklahoma could be an event that brings thousands of people to the state and would showcase actors who will in time be seen in television productions and movies.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results