The Edmond Sun

Opinion

February 1, 2013

Ensuring customer protection at the pump

EDMOND — After a visit to the gas station to fill up his truck with gas, my 17-year-old son had a very simple question for me: “Mom, since your name is on the gas pumps, why can’t you make the prices go down?”  

Logical question, it seems — especially when Oklahomans look at the gas pump and see the white inspection sticker listing the Oklahoma Corporation Commissioners in their official capacity. But as I told my son, the Oklahoma Corporation Commission does not control the price of gasoline at the pump. Our responsibility is to ensure that when you buy a gallon of gasoline or diesel fuel, you actually get a gallon. We also work to protect our citizens, our land and our water from leaky storage tanks under the ground that hold these fuels.

The OCC has inspectors that visit more than 34,000 pumps at more than 4,900 facilities all across Oklahoma. We inspect each pump at least twice a year. With 21 inspectors, it is a huge job, but one that protects Oklahomans every time they drive their car or truck.

At one inspection, our inspectors make a comprehensive review. They look at everything from leak detection to gasoline octane levels. At the second yearly inspection, we focus on calibration and fuel quality, by measuring octane numbers and other critical quality factors. Why is this important? The OCC is charged with making every effort to guarantee consumers get what they are paying for — a gallon of gasoline.

A fuel pump must meet calibration standards, which require the amount purchased be within 6 cubic inches — or about 6 tablespoons — for every 5 gallons pumped. The fuel sold also must meet standards for octane levels and ethanol levels. All three of these checks ensure that a gasoline purchaser is getting what they pay for.

If there is a problem, consumers can register a complaint with the OCC and we will send an inspector out to investigate. Our inspectors act on these complaints within 24 hours. If there is a problem, we work to fix it.

The OCC also works to make sure that the underground tanks at these 4,900 locations are safe for our environment and our ground water. Important to cities, towns and counties is the knowledge that these tanks have the required safety devices in place to keep land and water clean. If there is a leak or spill, we work to remove the pollution and to remove or fix the leaky tank.

Bottom line — the Oklahoma Corporation Commission cannot regulate the price of a gallon of gasoline and diesel at the pumps, but we can help ensure that our consumers are getting what they purchase, and that we keep our land and water clean.

PATRICE DOUGLAS, chairman of the Oklahoma Corporation Commissioner and a former Edmond mayor, is an Edmond resident.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Is English getting dissed?

    Is the English language being massacred by the young, the linguistically untidy and anyone who uses the Internet? Absolutely.
    Is that anything new? Hardly.
    Many words and expressions in common parlance today would have raised the hackles of language scolds in the not-so-distant past. For evidence, let’s look at some examples from recent newspaper articles.

    July 31, 2014

  • 'Too big to fail' equals 'too eager to borrow'

    Four years ago this month, President Barack Obama signed the Dodd-Frank Act into law, promising that the 848-page financial law would “put a stop to taxpayer bailouts once and for all,” he said. But recently, Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren told a Detroit crowd that “the biggest banks are even bigger than they were when they got too big to fail in 2008.”
    Who’s right?

    July 30, 2014

  • Sheltons travel for better life for family

    Some time around 1865 a mixed-race African American couple, William and Mary Shelton, made their way from Mississippi to east Texas. Nothing is known for certain of their origins in he Magnolia state, or the circumstances under which they began their new lives in Texas.

    July 29, 2014

  • Film critic Turan produces book

    Kenneth Turan, who is the film critic for National Public Radio’s “Morning Edition,” has written a book “Not to be Missed, Fifty-Four Favorites from a Life Time of Film.” His list of movies span the gamut from the beginnings of filmmaking through the present day.
    There are some surprising omissions on his list. While he includes two films, “A Touch of Evil” and Chimes at Midnight” made by Orson Welles, and one, “The Third Man,” that Welles starred in but did not direct. He did not however, include “Citizen Kane,” that was the first movie Welles made, that is  often cited by both film critics and historians as a favorite film.

    July 28, 2014

  • Logan County’s disputed zone

    Watchers of “Star Trek” may recall the episode from the original series entitled, “Day of the Dove.” In this episode, Captain Kirk and his crew are forced by a series of circumstances into a confrontation with the Klingons. The conflict eventually resolves after Kirk realizes that the circumstances have been intentionally designed by an alien force which feeds off negative emotions, especially fear and anger. Kirk and his crew communicate this fact to the Klingons and the conflict subsides. No longer feeding upon confrontation, the alien force is weakened and successfully driven away.

    July 28, 2014

  • Russell leads in Sun poll

    Polling results of an unscientific poll at www.edmondsun.com show that Steve Russell, GOP candidate for the 5th District congressional seat, is in the lead with 57 percent of the vote ahead of the Aug. 26 runoff election. Thirty readers participated in the online poll.

    July 28, 2014

  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

Poll

The runoff race for the 5th District congressional seat is set for Aug. 26. If the voting were today, which candidate would you support?

Al McAffrey
Tom Guild
Undecided
     View Results