The Edmond Sun

Opinion

April 26, 2013

The Eagle-Tribune of North Andover, Mass.: New front in terror war will be tough fight

NORTH ANDOVER, Mass. — After a dozen years of the war on terror, America has grown somewhat complacent toward the threat of Muslim fundamentalist terrorism here at home.

It’s clear that the war abroad and our security measures at home have rendered al-Qaida incapable of executing a large-scale strike against the United States comparable to the Twin Towers and Pentagon attacks of 2001 that left nearly 3,000 dead. Instead, al-Qaida has been relegated to failed, individual attempts such as “shoe bomber” Richard Reid and “underwear bomber” Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab.

To be sure, lone lunatics like Maj. Nidal Hasan, who killed 13 at Fort Hood in 2009, may have been inspired by Islamic fanaticism. But evidence suggests he was acting alone.

Now, with the Boston Marathon bombings, it appears we have something different, something that falls between the massive terrorist operation of Sept. 11, 2001, and the individual attacks by the likes of the shoe bomber. …

Tamerlan and Dzhokhar Tsarnaev may not have been bona-fide al-Qaida operatives sent on a mission to terrorize Americans. But they surely were fellow travelers with the al-Qaida philosophy.

It’s one thing to wage war against a terrorist organization that has facilities, installations and a leadership structure to attack. It’s another matter to fight a philosophy of hatred.

One day, Dzhokhar Tsarnaev was a well-liked college student — an all-American boy, despite the unusual name. The next day, he’s blowing up men, women and little kids with a homemade bomb.

If this is the new front in the war on terror, we will be hard pressed to defeat it.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results