The Edmond Sun

Opinion

November 5, 2009

Recognizing that Oklahoma is Native America

EDMOND — This November is Native American month. It is the good time to remember alegacy of Oklahoma as “Indian Territory,” but more importantly to acknowledge the contributions native tribes have made to the fabric of our state. The leaders of state government in Oklahoma still struggle to recognize the unequivocal importance of tribal governments and minority small businesses to the success of the economy of Oklahoma.

Gov. Brad Henry can make a difference by overcoming the current disputes and bring the state and tribes together for joint business development. Leadership is needed. He has a chance to be one of the first governors to unify a state with tremendous resources for jobs and economic development.

Our car tags read “Native America,” but it is time to stand up and prove it. Oklahoma government needs to “put its money where its mouth is,” for the benefit of all of us. Tobacco tax revenues are important, but not as important as working together for outside investment and jobs for Oklahomans.

Oklahoma is “Indian country.” We have 38 federally recognized tribes that call Oklahoma home and the second-largest concentration of Native Americans in the United States, behind only California. These statistics translate into a lot more long-term economic development fire-power than gaming or tobacco. Economic development brings jobs and opportunities for all Oklahomans. We need every competitive advantage as a bread basket state to compete for current and future business. The governor can take the initiative and utilize our heritage to develop future business and jobs. Tribes contributed more than $10 billion to the state’s economy in a report five years ago and can do considerably more with cooperation and assistance.

Government agencies, prime contractors and large commercial concerns seek and need minority companies to work with. According to the National Minority Supplier Development Council, more than $87 billion was spent in 2004 nationally with NMSDC certified minority vendors. Prime Department of Defense contractors can receive a 5 percent cash rebate for using Native American minority companies.

Text Only
Opinion
  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results