The Edmond Sun

Opinion

July 22, 2013

A solution to the property tax increase problem

EDMOND — A month ago I wrote about this area’s rapid growth and described local tax collections continue to grow as formerly empty fields fill up with new homes and taxpayers.

In that article (hd31.org/508) I encouraged local officials to set aside new growth revenues to meet the road infrastructure needs resulting from the increase in traffic and population.

Early calculations indicate that just the Logan County government could have approximately $300,000 in new revenues for the upcoming fiscal year. What if most of this growth revenue was set aside for road infrastructure and year after year the county continued to invest in infrastructure instead of spending it on growing the county government bureaucracy?

It is important to note that just a small fraction of ad valorem revenue goes to the county. Much of the remainder goes to local school systems. This year it appears that the Deer Creek, Guthrie and Edmond school districts are set to receive combined new growth revenues of over $1,000,000 from Logan County growth alone. This does not count the new growth revenues to the Edmond and Deer Creek districts resulting from the rapid development in north Oklahoma County.

Currently, state law does not encourage school districts to separate part of this new growth revenue and save the funds for meeting the increased school infrastructure needs such as the building of new school buildings. School districts frequently attempt to meet these infrastructure needs by asking for property tax increases. Districts then issue debt that takes years to pay off.

This results in two primary problems. First, when the debt is issued, the district is suddenly empowered with a rapid cash flow of other peoples’ money. In the past, this has led to extremely questionable spending practices. More on that later.

Secondly, because the district has issued debt, taxpayers are forced to foot the bill, not only for the principal, but millions more in debt, interest and related fees.

I suggest an alternative approach. We must change state law to enable school districts to set aside part of the regular ad valorem proceeds to build infrastructure without debt issuance. This would result in massive savings through debt avoidance and encourage more responsible spending, plus the district would have a real sense of ownership over their savings, as opposed to a sudden cash infusion.

Successful legislation has already been authored to allow rural road districts to use this pay-as-you-go approach and I believe we can pass this same reform on behalf of school districts. Hopefully, this new legislation will help local school officials stop the endless cycle of tax increase elections and allow them to set aside part of the new growth revenues to meet the corresponding infrastructure needs.

REP. JASON MURPHEY, R-Guthrie, represents House District 31, which encompasses all of Logan County and a portion of northern Edmond. He may be reached via email at jason.murphey@okhouse.gov.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results