The Edmond Sun

Opinion

April 30, 2013

‘42’ is more about fairness than baseball

MOREHEAD, Ky. — One of the first major league baseball games I saw in person as a young boy was when my beloved Cincinnati Reds hosted the Brooklyn Dodgers at Crosley Field.

I remember being considerably upset by the fact that the African American fans supporting the Reds gave their loudest cheers to a player for the Dodgers.

They cheered every time he came to bat or caught or threw the ball. And they gave him a prolonged standing ovation when he was introduced at the start of the game.

When the Reds’ black players did something important, those same fans responded with polite but less passionate cheers.

As I recall, I expressed my frustration to my uncle who said something about that Dodgers’ player breaking the color line.

Frankly, at the time, that didn’t mean much to a 10-year-old white kid from a small, all-white town in East Kentucky.

In my mind, it just wasn’t right for home team fans to cheer for the opposing team. I agreed that the man wearing No. 42 was a great player but he was playing for the Dodgers, not my Reds.

At my dad’s suggestion, I did some reading on Robinson’s life and learned that he and a baseball executive named Branch Rickey had teamed up to open the major leagues to black players.

That was obviously a good thing but I still didn’t fully realize why this man had been singled out by others of his race for such acclaim.

But all of those bits and pieces of information came together to make sense  recently when I saw the new movie, “42,” about the life of Jackie Robinson.

It is clear why he is an iconic figure in the civil rights movement and a hero, then and now, to all fair-minded persons, regardless of color. Enduring racist taunts, threats and even physical pain is portrayed very realistically by Chadwick Boseman, a promising new actor.

“42” takes us up to and through his rookie season with the Dodgers as they captured the National League pennant and Robinson was named Rookie of the Year.

I was pleased to learn the details of how Pee Wee Reese, the Dodgers’ great shortstop and a native of Louisville, befriended Robinson in the face of racist fans from his own state.

Jackie Robinson died too young at 53 but his courage and athleticism should be remembered forever by persons of all races.

Now I understand why the number 42 was retired by every team in big league baseball.

Thanks, Jackie.

KEITH KAPPES is a columnist for the Morehead (Ky.) News. Contact him at kkappes@cnhi.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results