The Edmond Sun

Opinion

October 19, 2012

More dark clouds on economic horizon

EDMOND — It was just a month ago that I wrote these words: “The latest state revenue report … indicates that dark clouds might be forming on the horizon of the Oklahoma economy.” Unfortunately, the latest state economic data has done little to allay my concerns.

Throughout the spring and early summer, the Oklahoma economy was humming along — easily outpacing the growth in the national economy. In fact, state personal income growth in the second quarter of the year clocked in at the seventh fastest pace in the nation. This was further evidenced by a surge in state tax collections, including my favorite metric of current economic activity — seasonally-adjusted state sales tax collections. However, last month the data started to indicate some warning signs that trouble might lie ahead. Specifically, state officials announced that in August there was a sudden and significant drop in state income tax collections. Such declines are not usually consistent with a growing economy.

While one month’s data could be dismissed as an aberration, that data point has since been joined by another. Last week state officials released September’s state revenue report — a report that drew praise from state officials. For example, state Finance Secretary Preston Doerflinger claimed that “this report indicates to me that our recovery from the recession is still ongoing.” The reason for the optimism is that state income tax, sales tax and motor vehicle tax collections all exceeded last year’s total.

In reality though, the state revenue report wasn’t all that positive. While collections are above what they were a year ago, that growth is attributed not to the current strength of the economy, but to the strength in the first half of 2012. In actuality, seasonally-adjusted state sales tax collections — again my favorite metric of current state economic activity — fell for the third consecutive month in September. What’s even more troubling, is that not only did the metric fall, but it fell to its lowest level of the year.

Fueling even more concerns was the release of the state employment situation report by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. That report showed the state unemployment rate tick up slightly to 5.2 percent last month — the same month that witnessed a significant drop in the national unemployment rate and state-level declines in 44 states. This marks the third consecutive month that the unemployment rate rose. Furthermore, the establishment survey showed that the state economy actually shed 3,700 jobs last month.

The story that is most consistent with these various data points is that the Oklahoma economy has slowed — probably not into a recession, but into a period of slower growth — in the third quarter. Honestly, such a slowdown is not all that unexpected given the robustness of the state’s second-quarter growth — a growth that was likely too strong for the underlying economic fundamentals. The real concern though, is whether the state economy is ready to bounce back in the fourth quarter, or if the stagnation will continue.

The slowdown is already affecting my state revenue forecasts for the year. At the end of June, on the heels of that strong second quarter performance, I expected state general revenue collections to reach $5.9 billion this fiscal year. Now, that number seems unrealistically high. The impact this would have on Oklahoma’s school children, families and public service workers is clearly significant.

It is certainly still possible for Oklahoma’s economy to resume its recent performance as a national leader. The latest economic data though, indicates that if anything, during this last month those dark clouds on the horizon of Oklahoma’s economy have moved even closer.

MICKEY HEPNER is the dean of the College of Business Administration at the University of Central Oklahoma. Hepner serves on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors for The Oklahoma Academy.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results