The Edmond Sun

Opinion

March 8, 2013

AS I SEE IT: Learn to appreciate your age, however old that may be

EDMOND — Forewarned is forearmed…or at least it should be. Men warned the boy who persisted in crying “Wolf!” when there was no wolf, that they wouldn’t rush to his aid next time, but he kept it up and we all know how that fable ends. Alas. It would have ended far differently if the boy had heeded their warning.

We who were the object of parental forewarning can appreciate the practical-joke value of the fabled wolf-boy’s teasing, but most of us had learned to arm ourselves more wisely by the time we were his age…though we do count some of our fondest memories among those times when we didn’t.        

Last week a TV doctor/prophet-of-sorts forewarned that 72 is today’s new 30, and my first thought was, How nice for them. But then my own ratio extrapolations suggested that if the guru was right, then 82 would be the new 40 and I’d best be forearmed when I got there. My joints begged to differ. “Get real,” creaked a hipbone, and my left knee agreed.

I should have listened, but women my age are curious and we have time to spare, so I set out to forearm myself as best I could. Maybe you sexagenarians remember how to be 30 again, but we octogenarians don’t remember squat about what’s required to be 40, so I turned to Friend Google and typed “The average 40 year old woman of today” on the search line.

Up popped a slew of before-40-and-after photos of my favorite movie stars that I now regret having seen, and also a number of disturbing predictions including the likelihood that a woman of 40 will need a hip replacement before she’s 50. Others estimated the number of lovers she would likely have, advised the best methods for conceiving a child at that age, the height and weight she should strive for, the number of pushups she should be able to complete, and statistics on her chance of marrying for the first time at that age. I’d obviously stumbled onto the wrong websites.

Moving on, I found sixty-eight “72 Is the New 30” entries and every one of them said the same thing: German scientists compared the bones of 30-year-old long-dead hunter-gatherers and determined the same probability of death as present-day Japanese at age 72. Not a word about the Swedish men who were also included in the study, nor about women of any race, not one of whom had been invited to participate.

“I have this to say about that,” I shouted at the TV doctor/prophet-of-sorts as I settled back into my role as comfortable octogenarian. “If there’s anymore of this 72/30 extrapolated into 82/40 business, be forewarned that I’ll be forearmed and focused on you in the crosshairs!”

My hip joints applauded and my left knee cheered, and a faint wolf-boy voice whispered, “Believe her.”

MARJORIE ANDERSON is an Edmond resident.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Is English getting dissed?

    Is the English language being massacred by the young, the linguistically untidy and anyone who uses the Internet? Absolutely.
    Is that anything new? Hardly.
    Many words and expressions in common parlance today would have raised the hackles of language scolds in the not-so-distant past. For evidence, let’s look at some examples from recent newspaper articles.

    July 31, 2014

  • 'Too big to fail' equals 'too eager to borrow'

    Four years ago this month, President Barack Obama signed the Dodd-Frank Act into law, promising that the 848-page financial law would “put a stop to taxpayer bailouts once and for all,” he said. But recently, Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren told a Detroit crowd that “the biggest banks are even bigger than they were when they got too big to fail in 2008.”
    Who’s right?

    July 30, 2014

  • Sheltons travel for better life for family

    Some time around 1865 a mixed-race African American couple, William and Mary Shelton, made their way from Mississippi to east Texas. Nothing is known for certain of their origins in he Magnolia state, or the circumstances under which they began their new lives in Texas.

    July 29, 2014

  • Film critic Turan produces book

    Kenneth Turan, who is the film critic for National Public Radio’s “Morning Edition,” has written a book “Not to be Missed, Fifty-Four Favorites from a Life Time of Film.” His list of movies span the gamut from the beginnings of filmmaking through the present day.
    There are some surprising omissions on his list. While he includes two films, “A Touch of Evil” and Chimes at Midnight” made by Orson Welles, and one, “The Third Man,” that Welles starred in but did not direct. He did not however, include “Citizen Kane,” that was the first movie Welles made, that is  often cited by both film critics and historians as a favorite film.

    July 28, 2014

  • Logan County’s disputed zone

    Watchers of “Star Trek” may recall the episode from the original series entitled, “Day of the Dove.” In this episode, Captain Kirk and his crew are forced by a series of circumstances into a confrontation with the Klingons. The conflict eventually resolves after Kirk realizes that the circumstances have been intentionally designed by an alien force which feeds off negative emotions, especially fear and anger. Kirk and his crew communicate this fact to the Klingons and the conflict subsides. No longer feeding upon confrontation, the alien force is weakened and successfully driven away.

    July 28, 2014

  • Russell leads in Sun poll

    Polling results of an unscientific poll at www.edmondsun.com show that Steve Russell, GOP candidate for the 5th District congressional seat, is in the lead with 57 percent of the vote ahead of the Aug. 26 runoff election. Thirty readers participated in the online poll.

    July 28, 2014

  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

Poll

The runoff race for the 5th District congressional seat is set for Aug. 26. If the voting were today, which candidate would you support?

Al McAffrey
Tom Guild
Undecided
     View Results