The Edmond Sun

Opinion

September 20, 2013

Obama demonstrating poor leadership on Syria

WASHINGTON, D.C. — In early September, President Obama announced that he would seek Congressional approval for the United States to use military force in Syria in retaliation to the chemical attack the Assad regime inflicted on hundreds of thousands of Syrians.

I hosted a series of town hall meetings the same week the president made his announcement, and as I traveled from one community to another to listen to the constituents of Oklahoma’s Third District, it was clear they were all but for U.S. military intervention in Syria. In addition to the opposition I witnessed at the meetings, my offices were flooded with phone calls and emails urging me to oppose action in Syria.

As I visited with constituents in the district, I knew the president’s administration would have a difficult time convincing me to support U.S. military intervention in Syria. However, I felt it necessary to make sure I could see the whole picture of what is going on in Syria, and therefore wanted to attend a classified Congressional briefing in Washington, D.C., before making a final decision.

Briefings of this nature, provided jointly by the State Department, Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI), Department of Defense (DoD), and House Intelligence Committee, often provide insight that can clarify many of the questions that must be answered when making decisions of this magnitude. I attended the classified briefing with an open mind, willing to see the overwhelming evidence that would compel me to support military action in Syria.

However, this was not the outcome of the briefing. In fact, my reservations with military intervention in Syria were only reinforced, and I felt confident the appropriate course of action for the U.S. at this point was to remain uninvolved.

It became apparent during the briefing that the administration didn’t have a clear plan of action, and couldn’t answer the question of what would happen after a military strike in Syria took place. They also were unable to tell us what they planned to accomplish by launching such a strike, and they remain unable to answer these important questions today.

The president still hasn’t put forth a plan to convince me that our country should get involved in a war in Syria. In fact, now that the president has seen how strongly opposed Americans are to such an idea, he has been trying to find a way to back our country out of a situation he created when he drew a “red line” before consulting Congress.

President Obama recently has embraced the Russian plan that requires Syria to hand over all their chemical weapons to the United Nations. This is nothing more than a diversionary ploy aimed to minimize the political ramifications of the president’s own indecision. This is not a good idea. In 1973, President Nixon almost threw our country into World War III to keep the Russian Army out of the Middle East. Now, in order to create a political escape hatch, the president is willing to have Russia get involved. This causes me grave concern.

President Obama has once again demonstrated poor leadership in the way he has handled the Syrian crisis. He committed our nation’s resources to conduct military action in Syria that the American people never wanted to take. I can assure my constituents that I will vote against this.

REP. FRANK LUCAS represents Oklahoma’s Third Congressional District. He may be reached by calling his Yukon office at 373-1958 or his Washington, D.C., office at 202-225-5565.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Too big to fail' equals 'too eager to borrow'

    Four years ago this month, President Barack Obama signed the Dodd-Frank Act into law, promising that the 848-page financial law would “put a stop to taxpayer bailouts once and for all,” he said. But recently, Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren told a Detroit crowd that “the biggest banks are even bigger than they were when they got too big to fail in 2008.”
    Who’s right?

    July 30, 2014

  • Sheltons travel for better life for family

    Some time around 1865 a mixed-race African American couple, William and Mary Shelton, made their way from Mississippi to east Texas. Nothing is known for certain of their origins in he Magnolia state, or the circumstances under which they began their new lives in Texas.

    July 29, 2014

  • Film critic Turan produces book

    Kenneth Turan, who is the film critic for National Public Radio’s “Morning Edition,” has written a book “Not to be Missed, Fifty-Four Favorites from a Life Time of Film.” His list of movies span the gamut from the beginnings of filmmaking through the present day.
    There are some surprising omissions on his list. While he includes two films, “A Touch of Evil” and Chimes at Midnight” made by Orson Welles, and one, “The Third Man,” that Welles starred in but did not direct. He did not however, include “Citizen Kane,” that was the first movie Welles made, that is  often cited by both film critics and historians as a favorite film.

    July 28, 2014

  • Logan County’s disputed zone

    Watchers of “Star Trek” may recall the episode from the original series entitled, “Day of the Dove.” In this episode, Captain Kirk and his crew are forced by a series of circumstances into a confrontation with the Klingons. The conflict eventually resolves after Kirk realizes that the circumstances have been intentionally designed by an alien force which feeds off negative emotions, especially fear and anger. Kirk and his crew communicate this fact to the Klingons and the conflict subsides. No longer feeding upon confrontation, the alien force is weakened and successfully driven away.

    July 28, 2014

  • Russell leads in Sun poll

    Polling results of an unscientific poll at www.edmondsun.com show that Steve Russell, GOP candidate for the 5th District congressional seat, is in the lead with 57 percent of the vote ahead of the Aug. 26 runoff election. Thirty readers participated in the online poll.

    July 28, 2014

  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

Poll

The runoff race for the 5th District congressional seat is set for Aug. 26. If the voting were today, which candidate would you support?

Al McAffrey
Tom Guild
Undecided
     View Results