The Edmond Sun

Opinion

September 20, 2013

Obama demonstrating poor leadership on Syria

WASHINGTON, D.C. — In early September, President Obama announced that he would seek Congressional approval for the United States to use military force in Syria in retaliation to the chemical attack the Assad regime inflicted on hundreds of thousands of Syrians.

I hosted a series of town hall meetings the same week the president made his announcement, and as I traveled from one community to another to listen to the constituents of Oklahoma’s Third District, it was clear they were all but for U.S. military intervention in Syria. In addition to the opposition I witnessed at the meetings, my offices were flooded with phone calls and emails urging me to oppose action in Syria.

As I visited with constituents in the district, I knew the president’s administration would have a difficult time convincing me to support U.S. military intervention in Syria. However, I felt it necessary to make sure I could see the whole picture of what is going on in Syria, and therefore wanted to attend a classified Congressional briefing in Washington, D.C., before making a final decision.

Briefings of this nature, provided jointly by the State Department, Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI), Department of Defense (DoD), and House Intelligence Committee, often provide insight that can clarify many of the questions that must be answered when making decisions of this magnitude. I attended the classified briefing with an open mind, willing to see the overwhelming evidence that would compel me to support military action in Syria.

However, this was not the outcome of the briefing. In fact, my reservations with military intervention in Syria were only reinforced, and I felt confident the appropriate course of action for the U.S. at this point was to remain uninvolved.

It became apparent during the briefing that the administration didn’t have a clear plan of action, and couldn’t answer the question of what would happen after a military strike in Syria took place. They also were unable to tell us what they planned to accomplish by launching such a strike, and they remain unable to answer these important questions today.

The president still hasn’t put forth a plan to convince me that our country should get involved in a war in Syria. In fact, now that the president has seen how strongly opposed Americans are to such an idea, he has been trying to find a way to back our country out of a situation he created when he drew a “red line” before consulting Congress.

President Obama recently has embraced the Russian plan that requires Syria to hand over all their chemical weapons to the United Nations. This is nothing more than a diversionary ploy aimed to minimize the political ramifications of the president’s own indecision. This is not a good idea. In 1973, President Nixon almost threw our country into World War III to keep the Russian Army out of the Middle East. Now, in order to create a political escape hatch, the president is willing to have Russia get involved. This causes me grave concern.

President Obama has once again demonstrated poor leadership in the way he has handled the Syrian crisis. He committed our nation’s resources to conduct military action in Syria that the American people never wanted to take. I can assure my constituents that I will vote against this.

REP. FRANK LUCAS represents Oklahoma’s Third Congressional District. He may be reached by calling his Yukon office at 373-1958 or his Washington, D.C., office at 202-225-5565.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Loosening constraints on campaign donations and spending doesn’t destroy democracy

    Campaign finance reformers are worried about the future. They contend that two Supreme Court rulings — the McCutcheon decision in March and the 2010 Citizens United decision — will magnify inequality in U.S. politics.
    In both cases, the court majority relaxed constraints on how money can be spent on or donated to political campaigns. By allowing more private money to flow to campaigns, the critics maintain, the court has allowed the rich an unfair advantage in shaping political outcomes and made “one dollar, one vote” (in one formulation) the measure of our corrupted democracy.
    This argument misses the mark for at least four reasons.

    April 23, 2014

  • The top 12 government programs ever

    Which federal programs and policies succeed in being cost-effective and targeting those who need them most? These two tests are obvious: After all, why would we spend taxpayers' money on a program that isn't worth what it costs or helps those who do not need help?

    April 23, 2014

  • Free trade on steroids: The threat of the Trans-Pacific Partnership

    Many supporters of the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership, or TPP, trade agreement are arguing that its fate rests on President Obama’s bilateral talks with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in Japan this week. If Japan and the United States can sort out market access issues for agriculture and automobiles, the wisdom goes, this huge deal — in effect, a North American Free Trade Agreement on steroids — can at last be concluded.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Chicago Tribune: If Walgreen Co. moves its HQ to Europe, blame Washington’s tax failure

    The Walgreen Co. drugstore chain got its start nearly a century ago in downstate Dixon, Ill., before moving its corporate headquarters to Chicago and eventually to north suburban Deerfield, Ill.
    Next stop? Could be Bern, Switzerland.
    A group of shareholders reportedly is pressuring the giant retail chain for a move to the land of cuckoo clocks. The reason: lower taxes. Much lower taxes.
    If Walgreen changes its legal domicile to Switzerland, where it recently acquired a stake in European drugstore chain Alliance Boots, the company could save big bucks on its corporate income-tax bill. The effective U.S. income-tax rate for Walgreen, according to analysts at Swiss Bank UBS: 37 percent. For Alliance Boots: about 20 percent.

    April 21, 2014

  • Sulphur a future major tourist destination?

    Greta Garbo says, “I want to be alone,” in the 1932 film “Grand Hotel.” That MGM film starred Garbo, John and Lionel Barrymore, Wallace Beery and a young actress from Lawton named Joan Crawford. It told the stories of several different people who were staying at an exclusive hotel of that name in Berlin Germany.
    It was critically well received and it inspired more recent films such as “Gosford Park” and television shows such as “Downton Abbey” in that it detailed the relationship between powerful and wealthy people and those who served them. The film opened amidst much fanfare and it received the Oscar for best picture in the year of its release.

    April 21, 2014

  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results