The Edmond Sun

Opinion

August 15, 2013

EDITORIALS: Bad medicine for hospitals; An exotic place to die

(Continued)

And it’s what happens when Congress passes a sweeping law aimed at fundamentally changing one of the largest sectors of the economy. The law counted on all parts working exactly as supporters had hoped. Government rarely works that way, however, and those who voted for the law should have known it. Their hubris blinded them.

Marvin the Martian to have houseguests

(Valdosta, Ga., Daily Times)

Although technology has advanced at an amazing speed, humans have yet to land on another planet. Unmanned craft have long explored the outer reaches of space, with the Mars Rover collecting incredible data on the red planet. It's only a matter of time before people will follow.

Earth’s fascination with Mars began in science fiction. Novels and movies often depicted Martians as little green men coming to Earth to enslave or destroy its inhabitants. Rovers haven’t found any sign of life on Mars - yet. No Martians have landed on Earth - at least that we know of.

But now there’s a chance that some Earthlings themselves will soon become Martians.

More than 100,000 people have signed up for a chance to die on Mars, reports CNN. Technology is advanced enough to get them there - hopefully - but there's little-to-no hope at this point of bringing them back.

A number of entrepreneurs are selling the opportunity to be among the first to colonize Mars, perhaps as soon as 2022. The Mars One project plans to be the first; others are in the design stages. And of course, the entire journey and colonization will be broadcast worldwide.

Naysayers claim humans cannot survive the journey, let alone harsh conditions on the planet, which might make the number of people willing to pay to die trying a little surprising. But, of course, those age 45 and younger have never known a world where space exploration and landing on the moon were considered impossible. Perhaps living on Mars isn’t so unbelievable after all.

Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results