The Edmond Sun

Opinion

October 25, 2013

LETTER: Able Oklahomans can fight against hunger

OKLA. CITY — To the editor:

Hunger does not discriminate against race or gender. Hunger envelopes families and entire communities and in Okalhoma it affects 675,000 people.

The statistics are distressing. One in six Oklahomans wake up each morning not knowing where their next meal may come from and one in four Oklahoma children are at risk of going hungry daily.

Oklahoma consistently ranks in the top 10 hungriest states in the nation. In May, our state was devastated by the tornadoes, further increasing the number of families who are food-insecure in Oklahoma. Oklahoma food banks provide enough food for more than 150,000 people each week and that demand increases during the holidays.

As the holiday season approaches and all of its wonderful meals are being planned, we must remember our neighbors and lend a helping hand. We recently kicked off the fourth annual Feeding Oklahoma Food Drive and have set a goal of collecting 1.4 million meals to feed hungry Oklahomans. We can reach this lofty goal if every able Oklahoman joins us in the fight against hunger by donating time and resources.

By taking healthy, non-perishable food, like canned meat or vegetables to the Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma in Oklahoma City, the Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma in Tulsa or any of the statewide drop-off locations including BancFirst, Bob Moore dealerships, metro area Love's Travel Stops and select AT&T stores, you can be a viatl part in feeding Oklahoma's hungry.

For more information on how y ou can help, visit feedingoklahoma.org or follow the food drive on Facebook and Twitter. Thank you for your compassion.

Gov. Mary Fallin, Rodney W. Bivens, executive director of Regional Food Bank of Okalhoma, and Eileen Bradshaw, executive director of Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results