The Edmond Sun

Opinion

September 3, 2013

Becoming a national leader in transparency

GUTHRIE — Several years ago, I was told, the Senate debated making government information accessible on the Internet. A very powerful state senator purportedly opposed the proposal because he said if his constituents wanted to see government information badly enough, “They could drive to Oklahoma City and get it themselves.”

This is a perfect illustration of the Oklahoma legislators’ mindset at that time. They knew they could hide information from the taxpayers by making it hard to find, inconvenient to access and by guarding it with red tape and bureaucracy. While the information was technically accessible for all intents and purposes, it might as well have been hidden beneath the Pittsburg County courthouse.

In a few weeks, the House of Representatives Government Modernization Committee will conduct a review of the recently created transparency tools that allow you to hold your government accountable. These tools have been developed in the past few years by the Legislature, the state’s Office of Management and Enterprise Services and the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

It has been our goal to transform Oklahoma state government from the antiquated black hole of secrecy into a leader of transparency. We are deploying new technologies to give citizens oversight.

As part of this effort, several web portals have been created: OpenBooks.ok.gov allows you to see the government’s spending, Data.ok.gov publishes hundreds of entire sets of state and federal data, Documents.ok.gov contains thousands of documents and Forms.ok.gov provides hundreds of state government forms.

Over the years, not only have we created these sites, we also have followed up on their implementation and added new transparencies. For example, OpenBooks was initially created to publish government spending, but we later added tax credit transparency to the site.

These sites have started attracting national attention. Earlier this year, the U.S. Public Interest Research Group released its 2013 transparency grade. In the past, the group had given Oklahoma a “C” grade on transparency. However, this year, the group upped Oklahoma’s score to an “A”. Oklahoma is one of just seven states to receive an “A” grade.

State Finance Director Preston Doerflinger points to an interesting fact. He states that the grade did not include all the transparency sites. By making a few technical changes in the way the sites are accessed, we may improve both public access and Oklahoma’s transparency grade. Our committee will consider this proposal in its upcoming hearing.

Additionally, in June, the Documents.ok.gov site was designated as a “2012 notable document” by the American Library Association.

The success of these sites may be directly attributed to Doerflinger, State Chief Information Officer Alex Pettit, Libraries Department Director Susan McVey and their staff.

The Government Modernization study will review the success of these initiatives and the need for additional reforms. For example, it appears now as though certain state agencies are not following the laws requiring them to submit their documents to the Oklahoma Department of Libraries where they are made public. If this is the case, it will be our duty to publicly expose the names of the offending agencies.

We have come a long way from the days when Oklahoma politicians sought to thwart transparency, and there is much more reform to come.

REP. JASON MURPHEY, R-Guthrie, represents House District 31, which encompasses all of Logan County and a portion of northern Edmond. He may be reached via email at jason.murphey@okhouse.gov.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Free trade on steroids: The threat of the Trans-Pacific Partnership

    Many supporters of the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership, or TPP, trade agreement are arguing that its fate rests on President Obama’s bilateral talks with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in Japan this week. If Japan and the United States can sort out market access issues for agriculture and automobiles, the wisdom goes, this huge deal — in effect, a North American Free Trade Agreement on steroids — can at last be concluded.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Chicago Tribune: If Walgreen Co. moves its HQ to Europe, blame Washington’s tax failure

    The Walgreen Co. drugstore chain got its start nearly a century ago in downstate Dixon, Ill., before moving its corporate headquarters to Chicago and eventually to north suburban Deerfield, Ill.
    Next stop? Could be Bern, Switzerland.
    A group of shareholders reportedly is pressuring the giant retail chain for a move to the land of cuckoo clocks. The reason: lower taxes. Much lower taxes.
    If Walgreen changes its legal domicile to Switzerland, where it recently acquired a stake in European drugstore chain Alliance Boots, the company could save big bucks on its corporate income-tax bill. The effective U.S. income-tax rate for Walgreen, according to analysts at Swiss Bank UBS: 37 percent. For Alliance Boots: about 20 percent.

    April 21, 2014

  • Sulphur a future major tourist destination?

    Greta Garbo says, “I want to be alone,” in the 1932 film “Grand Hotel.” That MGM film starred Garbo, John and Lionel Barrymore, Wallace Beery and a young actress from Lawton named Joan Crawford. It told the stories of several different people who were staying at an exclusive hotel of that name in Berlin Germany.
    It was critically well received and it inspired more recent films such as “Gosford Park” and television shows such as “Downton Abbey” in that it detailed the relationship between powerful and wealthy people and those who served them. The film opened amidst much fanfare and it received the Oscar for best picture in the year of its release.

    April 21, 2014

  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Why poverty across the world matters to Americans

    A child starving in South Sudan should matter to Americans. That was the message delivered last week by Nancy Lindborg, whose job at the U.S. Agency for International Development is to lead a federal bureau spreading democracy and humanitarian assistance across the world.
    That world has reached a critical danger zone, with three high-level crises combining military conflict with humanitarian catastrophes affecting millions of innocents in Syria, the South Sudan and the Central African Republic.
    But back to that child.

    April 18, 2014

  • Government leadership complicit in overfilling prisons

    One of the thorniest problems facing any society is the question of what to do with transgressors. Obviously, the more complicated a culture becomes, the more factors come into play in trying to figure out what to do with those who choose not to “play by the rules.”

    April 18, 2014

  • My best days are ones normal people take for granted

    It is a weekend for working around the house. My fiancee, Erin, and I have the baby’s room to paint and some IKEA furniture to assemble. I roll out of bed early — 10:30 — and get into my wheelchair. Erin is already making coffee in the kitchen.
    “I started the first wall,” she says. “I love that gray.” Erin never bugs me about sleeping late. For a few months after I was injured in the Boston Marathon bombings, I often slept 15 hours a day. The doctors said my body needed to heal. It must still be healing because I hardly ever see 8 a.m. anymore.

    April 18, 2014

  • Instead of mothballing Navy ships, give them to our allies

    A bitter debate has raged in the Pentagon for several months about the wisdom of taking the nuclear aircraft carrier George Washington out of service to save money. The Washington, at 24 years old a relatively young vessel, is due for a costly refit, a routine procedure that all of the 11 large carriers in service undergo regularly.

    April 18, 2014

  • The pessimist’s guide to grizzly bears and Earth Day

    This coming Friday, to “celebrate Earth Day,” the Walt Disney Co. will release one of those cutesy, fun-for-all-ages, nature documentaries. “Bears” is about grizzly bears.
    The trailer says, “From DisneyNature comes a story that all parents share. About the love, the joy, the struggle and the strength it takes to raise a family.”
    Talk about your misguided “Hollywood values.” I previously have acknowledged a morbid, unreasonable fear of grizzly bears, stemming from a youth misspent reading grisly grizzly-attack articles in Readers Digest. This fear is only morbid and unreasonable because I live about 1,500 miles from the nearest wild grizzly bear. Still. ...

    April 16, 2014

  • Digging out of the CIA-Senate quagmire

    Last week, the Senate Intelligence Committee, led by Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., voted to declassify parts of its report on the CIA’s rendition, detention and interrogation program. The White House, the CIA and the Senate still have to negotiate which portions of the report will be redacted before it is made public. But this is an important step in resolving the ugly dispute that has erupted between the intelligence committee and the intelligence agency.
    The dispute presents two very serious questions. Was the program consistent with American values and did it produce valuable intelligence? And is effective congressional oversight of secret activities possible in our democracy?

    April 15, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results