The Edmond Sun

Opinion

May 31, 2012

Courts often protect citizens from majority’s fears

NORMAN — This month will mark the 45th anniversary of the 1967 Supreme Court decision in Loving vs. Virginia. The court decision struck down Virginia’s criminal statute banning interracial marriage. At the time, Oklahoma had its own similar statute making it a crime for a white person to marry a person of African descent.

The Oklahoma statute carried a monetary fine and potential imprisonment up to five years for the crime of marrying someone of a different race. At the time of the Loving ruling, according to a reported poll, 72 percent of our nation’s citizens favored state bans on interracial marriage.

Proponents of the bans said the ancient institution of marriage had traditionally been between persons of the same color; and that to allow such marriages would mean the couple’s children would face significant social obstacles, as well as being raised in an unstable family environment.

Religious justifications played a significant role in the discussion. Verses and phrases from both the Old Testament and New Testament were used to contend the Bible prohibited a mixing of the races.

The Loving opinion quoted the Virginia state court judge who had found Mildred and Richard Loving guilty of criminal conduct: “Almighty God created the races white, black, yellow, malay and red, and he placed them on separate continents. And, but for the interference with his arrangement, there would be no cause for such marriage. The fact that he separated the races shows that he did not intend for the races to mix.”

Unpersuaded, the Supreme Court set aside the bias of the majority in 1967, ruling that “the freedom to marry has long been recognized as one of the vital personal rights essential to the orderly pursuit of happiness by free men” and “cannot be infringed by the state.”

Today, the most recent Gallup Poll on the topic, one in September 2011, found an overwhelming 86 percent of the citizenry now approves of interracial marriage. The controversy has disappeared from the national scene. Only a fringe element continues to cling to the notion that whites should only marry whites. The once abundance of state laws similar to those of Virginia and Oklahoma, struck down by Loving, have become an obscure footnote in history.

Our grandchildren stare at us in disbelief when we tell them that the ban on interracial history continued for more than a decade after the Supreme Court decision had brought an end to racial segregation.

The only reason we can offer is one about misguided cultural values. Beyond this frustrating explanation, the Loving decision demonstrated for current and future generations one important side lesson: On matters of equality and human dignity, it is most often the courts which step in to protect the rights of citizens against the overblown fears of the majority.

 

ATTORNEY DON HOLLADAY lives in Norman. This column was first published in The Norman Transcript.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results