The Edmond Sun

Opinion

January 11, 2013

Edmond Sun, HOPE Center fund drive hits goal

EDMOND — You did it. The Edmond community took up collections, dug deep in their pockets and gave generously to the 2012 Edmond Sun Christmas Samaritan Fund Drive benefiting the HOPE Center of Edmond.

In spite of dire predictions for the national economy teetering on the alleged fiscal cliff and the ensuing nervousness that engendered, the 2012 Fund Drive brought in $160,575. This meets the goal set by the HOPE Center, which is about one-third of the social agency’s annual operating budget.

Executive Director Chris Sperry told The Sun she believes every dollar given to the HOPE Center is a blessing to the agency and its clients. She shared that many donors give on an annual basis and are longtime supporters. But this year also saw some new supporters chip into the fund.

One example she shared was a note from a person brand new to the Edmond community. That donor wrote that the HOPE Center and the local support it receives represents the kind of community they want to reside in. That’s a strong testament to the caring and support offered to community members in need by the HOPE Center.

Others sent notes in with their annual donation and told the HOPE Center how sorry they were that they could not give more. Their hearts were willing, but pocketbooks were spread thin this past year. Sperry said in spite of the economic hardship felt by many in the community, those residents still kept the HOPE Center on their charitable donation list. That means a lot to both the center and its clients, she said.

Edmond is blessed to have so many in its community with a caring and giving spirit. We hope that none of the donors ever need the services of the HOPE Center in the future, but thanks to their generosity, the center stands ready to serve those in need in Edmond. We thank each and every donor for their generosity, their kindness and their time. We hope each one feels as blessed in the giving as the HOPE Center feels blessed in the receiving. Thank you for allowing this agency to continue its mission and its commitment to those in need.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results