The Edmond Sun

Opinion

January 29, 2013

Don't have health insurance? Start your own insurance company

(Continued)

NEW YORK —

Horowitz began by forming the nonprofit Freelancers Union in 2003. It shared information, nurtured freelancer networking, and began the process of building solidarity. But she quickly saw that, for independent contractors who don't get coverage through their employers, obtaining affordable health insurance was the truly pressing issue.

Her first instinct was to deal with existing insurance companies to get her group a better rate. But at a certain point she decided the plans that were already out there didn't fit freelancers' needs and didn't account for their unique circumstances. So why not invent an insurance company of her own? "It was an audacious idea," chuckles Nancy Barrand of the Robert Woods Johnson foundation, which helped provide funding to get Horowitz's project off the ground. "People don't just start insurance companies in this day and age. She had to raise $10 million in reserves to qualify for an insurance license in New York. But she'd been negotiating with insurance companies, she knew the market, she'd seen the data on costs and benefits, and she realized, 'I can make it work better. I can be more efficient. I can do it myself.' "

The Freelancers Insurance Company launched in New York in 2008. It is wholly owned by the Freelancers Union and has no individual shareholders. In its first year, FIC lost money and had to raise rates. But by its second year, it was profitable. It has been profitable ever since. At a time when other insurance providers are seeking and winning double-digit rate increases, FIC has managed to freeze its premiums for the coming year. (Disclosure: I signed on for FIC health coverage last year. So far, so good.)

Sitting at her desk in a low-profile office in Brooklyn's DUMBO neighborhood, Horowitz described to me a three-step process for turning a notion into a reality. It boils down to: 1) Find the North Star that guides your mission. 2) Practice poking holes in your business model until you're certain it will actually work. 3) Find people who understand the concept of loyalty.

Text Only
Opinion
  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • RedBlueAmerica: What should the U.S. do about illegal immigrant children?

    The crisis along the southern U.S. border has politicians and immigration officials scrambling. More than 52,000 children, mostly from Central American nations, have arrived so far this year. The Department of Homeland Security is running out of space to hold them all.
    President Barack Obama is asking Congress for $3.7 billion in borrowed money from taxpayers to cover the growing “care, feeding and transportation costs of unaccompanied children and family groups” when our own veterans are not taken care of. Texas Gov. Rick Perry criticized the president’s plan, saying more money should go toward securing the border.

    July 17, 2014

  • VA scandal highlights the need to change Pentagon spending priorities

    The ongoing Department of Veterans Affairs scandal raises an important question: When our veterans are being denied access to basic health care, why is the Pentagon squandering billions of dollars on programs that do not benefit our military forces? Is there a link in organization attitudes?

    July 16, 2014

  • For better politics, it’s time for some raging moderates

    Like more than 20 percent of my fellow Californians, I am now classified as a no-party-preference voter, registered to vote but with no affiliation to any of the state’s political parties.
    I am for lower taxes and for marriage equality. I am tough on crime and I am anti-abortion. I believe that a pathway to citizenship is a necessary part of immigration reform and that student test scores should be a critical component of teacher evaluations.

    July 15, 2014

  • Father on mission to stop gun violence

    Since his son died six weeks ago as collateral damage to a troubled young man’s wish for vengeance, Richard Martinez has been asked whom he holds responsible.
    “I’m responsible,” the California lawyer answers, referring to most Americans’ failure to push harder to change gun laws after earlier mass shootings. “All those kids died and none of us did anything.”

    July 14, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: Obama must end the public information barriers

    Mr. President, you have a public information problem. Again. Several months ago, journalism organizations complained about a lack of access for news photographers to pertinent presidential events.

    July 14, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results