The Edmond Sun

Opinion

November 20, 2012

Edmond Public Schools Foundation: Where the donations go

EDMOND — The Edmond Public Schools Foundation currently distributes about $100,000 each year to deserving teachers and schools in the form of grants, and through scholarships to graduating seniors. Many people will surely say, “Why do we need to give money to our schools? Don’t they get enough of our tax dollars already? Why do we need to give out scholarships? Aren’t we an affluent enough community that we can pay for our own kids’ education?”

If you are asking yourself these questions, maybe you need a reality check. All you need to do is examine the current state of education in Oklahoma to begin understanding why the EPS Foundation exists. There are too many needs and not enough resources to go around under the current structure of our educational system. Without major reform, the citizens of Oklahoma will not be able to fund these needs in the foreseeable future.

As the new A-F grading system is fully implemented and fine tuned, funds will most likely be redirected to assist those schools in need. What happens to the Edmond schools then? Many people are already anticipating that funding for our schools will once again shrink just as it did during the great recession from which we just emerged. These are some really big reasons for the EPS Foundation. But this organization pre-dates these events. In all actuality, we’ve never had enough funding to do what we all believe our schools need.

Add to these challenges the problems facing many graduating seniors wanting to go to college. There are deserving students right here in Edmond that cannot afford college. Everyone is aware that fee and tuition costs continue to rise at our public colleges and universities. How do those students that do not qualify for grant dollars and are financially constrained pay these ever-rising expenses? Without scholarships from organizations like the EPS Foundation, many graduating seniors may never make it through college.

In the 2011-12 school year, the EPS Foundation awarded $90,000 in grants to 22 schools in our district. Another $10,000 was divided by four graduating seniors. Why are we not doing more? We can, and we should.

Currently, directed funding for scholarships awarded by the foundation is only available to Memorial High School graduates. The EPS Foundation needs people and companies to step up and help us make scholarships possible for all three high schools.

Edmond, as a community, has a long tradition of support for charitable organizations. We need to continue this generosity by stepping up and supporting those who are our city’s future — our children. If every household in Edmond would donate $100 to the EPS Foundation we would raise $3,158,000.  If each household would contribute just $20, the foundation would receive $631,600. Now is the time to show our support for our schools; for the students and the teachers. To contribute or learn more, visit http://edmondfoundation.org.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Healthier and Wealthier? Not in Oklahoma

    Increased copays, decreased coverage, diminished health care access, reduced provider budgets and increased frustration are all the outcomes of the Legislature’s 2014 health care funding decisions. Unlike some years in the past when a languishing state economy forced legislators into making cuts, the undesirable outcomes this year could easily have been avoided.

    July 26, 2014

  • Medicaid reform a necessity

    Historically, education spending by the state of Oklahoma has been the largest budget item. This is no longer the case. In recent years, the state of Oklahoma spends more on Medicaid (operated by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority) than common education and higher education combined, according to the state’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

    July 25, 2014

  • Remembering lessons from 1974

    This week marks the 40th anniversary of an important milestone in America’s constitutional history. On July 24, 1974, the Supreme Court voted 8-0 to order the Nixon White House to turn over audiotapes that would prove the president and his close aides were guilty of criminal violations. This ruling established with crystal clarity that the executive branch could not hide behind the shield of executive privilege to protect itself from the consequences of illegal behavior. It was a triumph for the continued vitality of our constitutional form of government.

    July 25, 2014

  • RedBlueAmerica: Is parenting being criminalized in America?

    Debra Harrell was arrested recently after the McDonald’s employee let her daughter spend the day playing in a nearby park while she worked her shift. The South Carolina woman says her daughter had a cell phone in case of danger, and critics say that children once were given the independence to spend a few unsupervised hours in a park.
    Is it a crime to parent “free-range” kids? Does Harrell deserve her problems? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the RedBlueAmerica columnists, debate the issue.

    July 24, 2014

  • Technology that will stimulate journalism’s future is now here

    To say technology has changed the newspaper media industry is understating the obvious. While much discussion focuses on how we read the news, technology is changing the way we report the news. The image of a reporter showing up to a scene with a pen and a pad is iconic but lost to the vestiges of time.
    I am asked frequently about the future of newspapers and, in particular, what does a successful future look like. For journalists, to be successful is to command multiple technologies and share news with readers in new and exciting ways.

    July 23, 2014

  • New Orleans features its own “Running of the Bulls”

    On July12, the streets of the Warehouse District of New Orleans were filled with thousands of young men who were seeking to avoid being hit with plastic bats wielded by women on roller skates as part of the annual “Running of the Bulls” that takes place in New Orleans.
    The event is based on the “Running of the Bulls” that occurs in Pamplona, Spain, that is  part of an annual occurrence in which a group of bulls rampage through the streets of Pamplona while men run from them to avoid being gored by their sharp horns. That event was introduced to the English-speaking world by Ernest Hemingway, who included scenes from it in his critically acclaimed 1926 novel “The Sun also Rises.”

    July 22, 2014

  • OTHER VIEW: Newsday: Lapses on deadly diseases demand explanation

    When we heard that the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had created a potentially lethal safety risk by improperly sending deadly pathogens — like anthrax — to other laboratories around the country, our first reaction was disbelief.

    July 22, 2014

  • Holding government accountable for open meeting violations

    A few weeks ago I wrote about the recent success of three important government transparency proposals which will go into law this year.

    July 21, 2014

  • GUEST OPINION — Oklahoma GOP voters want educational choices

    A Braun Research survey released in January showed that Oklahoma voters — Republicans, Democrats, and Independents alike — favor parental choice in education.

    July 21, 2014

  • HEY HINK: IRS interferes with citizens’ rights of free speech

    The patient is gravely ill. We have detected traces of a deadly venom in the bloodstream. We don’t know how widespread the poison is, but we know, if not counteracted, toxins of this kind can rot the patient’s vital organs and could ultimately prove fatal.

    July 19, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results