The Edmond Sun

Opinion

Opinion
  • Obamacare and religious rights in a for-profit world

    Next week, the Supreme Court will hear arguments on whether the Affordable Care Act’s contraception mandate — the requirement that employers provide employee health insurance that covers contraception — impermissibly infringes on the religious liberty of religiously motivated corporations

    March 19, 2014

  • Enid rich in history, commerce

    Weary passengers on the night ferry that travels between Khartoum, Sudan, and Cairo, Egypt, on the Nile River are told that when they see the outline of the pyramids  emerging from the morning mist that they will be soon docking in Cairo.
    Impatient travelers coming to Enid from Oklahoma City could be advised that when the wheat fields give way to a series of grain elevators they will soon be in Enid.

    March 18, 2014

  • I used to be terrified of the SATs. This is why I'm not anymore.

    I tried. I really did. When the College Board announced its latest SAT changes and my e-mail box overflowed with analyses of their importance for the future of our republic, I tried to ignore them.

    March 17, 2014

  • Kansas City Star: U.S. Senate clings to old-fashioned, costly secrecy

    Candidates for the U.S. Senate stand alone in the world of campaign finance disclosure. Alone and behind the times, unnecessarily secretive and indefensibly wasteful.
    Unlike their counterparts vying for the U.S. House, Senate candidates are allowed to file required campaign finance disclosure forms the old-fashioned way, on paper, delivered by mail.
    By clinging to that system, it sometimes means donors won’t be revealed until after the votes are counted. And the resistance to electronic filing also costs U.S. taxpayers more than $400,000 annually to convert paper reports into easily accessible online records.

    March 17, 2014

  • People are not naturally equipped to be career politicians

    A legislative committee recently approved an initiative to place a term limit of 12 years upon county commissioners.
    There is little doubt that term limits on Oklahoma legislators was a key factor in breaking up the old guard, evil empires and political machines — a time when lifetime politicians adversely dominated Oklahoma politics.

    March 17, 2014

  • We must stand with Ukraine

    During the past several months, the world has watched an unraveling situation among Ukraine, Russia and the peninsula of Crimea. The struggle reached a boiling point last month when protestors overthrew the corrupt leadership of Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych, who was collaborating with Russian President Vladimir Putin and intending to force greater ties between the two countries —

    March 17, 2014

  • Young marriage law in effect in Iraq

    Two news items appearing in Reuters this week reveal, again, that thousands of modern women continue to suffer under harsh social chains forged by men of a medieval — perhaps prehistoric — mindset. One of these stories is from Iraq and the other — to my amazement — originates in the United States.
    First, Iraq: On March 8, a number of brave Iraqi women took the bold step of mounting a very visible public protest in the streets of Baghdad. They were crying out against a law approved by the Iraqi cabinet Feb. 25. This law, referred to as the Ja’afari Law, would legislatively establish the age of nine as the legal age for a girl to be eligible for marriage. It would legislatively recognize the husband’s right to sexual relations whenever he pleased. It would provide that fathers have custody of all the couple’s children two years of age or older.

    March 15, 2014

  • Rebuilding America

    Ever heard of Skip Pescosolido? I hadn’t either until very recently, but I’m glad I did. Without Skip, we’d all be paying higher grocery bills.
    To understand why, you have to go back to 1937, when the federal government organized orange producers into cartels known as “marketing orders.” Farmers were assigned a weekly quota that basically dictated how many oranges they could sell. Any extras went to waste.
    How does this jibe with the free market? It doesn’t. But the government made an exception for marketing orders. By limiting supply, the argument went, the government would prop up orange prices and thus protect small farmers.

    March 15, 2014

  • Life lessons add up for students

    The numbers are staggering. They include $441,552 earned during Swine Week, $249,789 for Double Wolf Dare Week and $301,144 made during BALTO Week.
    Just under $1 million was raised this year by students of Edmond Public Schools. Their fellow students in Deer Creek brought in $90,130 while Oklahoma Christian School students raised $76,800 in their respective fundraising weeks.

    March 15, 2014

  • President Obama’s irresponsible budget

    President Obama recently released his fiscal year 2015 budget proposal. While Congress ultimately has jurisdiction over drafting the budget and appropriating funding, the president’s budget serves as a blueprint and sets his administration’s agenda for the upcoming year. Sadly, the president has offered a plan to Congress that adds to our mounting debt, hikes taxes and makes indiscriminate cuts to our national defense.

    March 12, 2014

Poll

Do you agree with a state budget proposal that takes some funds away from road and bridge projects to ramp up education funding by $29.85 million per year until schools are receiving $600 million more a year than they are now? In years in which 1 percent revenue growth does not occur in the general fund, the transfer would not take place.

Agree
Disagree
Undecided
     View Results