The Edmond Sun

Opinion

Opinion
  • Cantor’s defeat: A voters’ revolt against, but against what?

    Voters’ revolts are always instructive. But first you have to figure out what the voters were trying to say. And in the days since Rep. Eric Cantor, the second-ranking Republican in the House of Representatives, lost his GOP primary election, there’s been plenty of disagreement about that.

    June 17, 2014

  • LETTER: Train whistle disrupts sweet slumber

    To the Editor:
    I’ve lived in Edmond since 1971 and have always heard the trains. Okay, there is a track so that makes sense. They were never a problem before the past six months. However, things change and so have they. I am older than before so I expected my hearing to be less, not better.

    June 17, 2014

  • The Kansas City Star: College debt relief is good, prevention is better

    Outlandish student loan debt is forcing millions of young Americans to live with the brakes on. President Barack Obama on Monday announced a step that will help some of those who need help the most.
    About 5 million borrowers with high debt and low incomes will be newly eligible for the “pay as you earn” program, which caps loan payments at 10 percent of the borrowers’ monthly discretionary income. Young people looking for work or stranded in poorly paying jobs will get some breathing room.

    June 17, 2014

  • A recipe for economic growth

    In the past decade Oklahoma is performing well and beating the national average. It’s no coincidence that over this same period Oklahoma implemented a number of pro-growth policies including right-to-work, eliminated death taxes and cut the top personal income tax rate by 25 percent while increasing the standard deduction and adding a child tax credit for many Oklahomans.

    June 13, 2014

  • Tax breaks duel with pressing needs

    Ineffective, misguided, a step in the wrong direction — all ways to describe the Oklahoma Legislature’s tax reform efforts during the 2014 legislative session. Instead of addressing our state’s most pressing needs, our state’s leaders instead chose at best to ignore, at worst exacerbate, them.

    June 13, 2014

  • Flag Day brings chance to reflect on nation’s future

    On June 14, 1777, the second Continental Congress passed “the flag resolution” adopting “The Stars and Stripes” as the official flag of the United States. Since then, the flag has been referred to as “the Star-Spangled Banner,” and “Old Glory.” Over the years, this flag has been the respected, protected and honored symbol representing the people and government of the United States.

    June 13, 2014

  • No one is against devoted dads

    Father's Day is Sunday, which means that it's time for pundits and politicians to scold the American public - with special ire reserved for black members of the American public - for our supposed indifference to the wonder and awe of fatherhood.

    June 12, 2014

  • A wordless D-Day conversation

    So how did you spend your 30th birthday? As the years whisk by, most of us no longer remember. But Cliff Morgan, who would have been 100 years old this week, surely never forgot his 30th. After all, he’d just landed on the shore of Normandy, on France’s north coast.
    Last week, the Queen of England, the president of the United States, and a world of dignitaries came to Omaha Beach to honor the sacrifices made there 70 years earlier when 150,000 troops landed at Normandy in 1944. My father-in-law, U.S. Army Capt. George Clifton “Cliff” Morgan, was there somewhere in the middle of it.

    June 12, 2014

  • Obama and the EPA: It’s about rewarding friends, punishing enemies

    The Environmental Protection Agency published its Clean Power Plan Proposed Rule last week. By how much would the rule reduce future temperatures? If we apply the climate model developed at the National Center for Atmospheric Research — used by both the United Nations and the EPA — the new rule, even if implemented immediately, would reduce global temperatures in 2050 by less than a hundredth of a degree, and less than two-hundredths of a degree by 2100. Those trivial temperature effects are much smaller than the annual variability (11-hundredths of a degree) of the surface temperature record. They could not be measured reliably.

    June 11, 2014

  • Bergdahl trade is not Benghazi

    Count me among the confounded by the White House handling of Army Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl. With the caveat that there’s still much we don’t know, on the surface it appears we were outnegotiated in the 5:1 swap with the Taliban, particularly in light of the circumstances that gave rise to the soldier’s capture.

    June 10, 2014

Poll

If the Republican runoff for the 5th District congressional seat were today, which candidate would you vote for?

Patrice Douglas
Steve Russell
Undecided
     View Results