The Edmond Sun

June 7, 2013

Edmond students selected for OMRF teen leaders program

The Edmond Sun

OKLA. CITY — The Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation has chosen 41 students from across the state for its inaugural Teen Leaders in Philanthropy class.

Of the 2013 Teen Leaders in Philanthropy, seven are from the Edmond area.

They include four Edmond Memorial High School students: Carmen Leibrock, Joanna Quiah, Megan Mueggenborg and Greg Olson.

Also, two students from Deer Creek High School including Soorajnath Boominathan and Taylor Brown.

One student, Conner Fitch, is a 2013 Teen Leader in Philanthropy from Oklahoma Christian.

Those selected will visit OMRF monthly during the 2013-14 school year to meet philanthropic leaders and learn more about nonprofit organizations and how giving impacts their communities. The teens will work together on special team-building and fundraising projects and learn about basic philanthropy, development, board structure, networking, fundraising and social media.

2013 Teen Leaders in Philanthropy are: Altus High School: Savannah Phillips; ASTEC: Yanderi Barrios, Tykesha Miller, Brenda Rodriguez and Bryan Sandoval; Bishop McGuinness: Jack Baze, Rachel Groves, Baylee Henry, Rachel Jordan, Bridget McGuire, Kate Sine and Aspen Weber; Casady: Arjun Reddy; Cashion: Emily Buchalla and Lauren Buchalla; Community Christian School (Norman): Meredith Rasnic; Classen SAS: Caroline McKinnis; Duncan, Jake Gregston and Reagan Robinson; Guthrie: Mekaila Carey; Harding Charter Prep: Lauren Flynn; Heritage Hall: Maya Bhandary, Haley Walton and Delaney Williams; Mercy School: Sidra Mesiya and Uzma Sandhu; Norman: J. Marcum; Norman North: Lucy Fulkerson and Camryn Gavras; and Putnam North: Sarah Fuzzell, Zoe Haddad, Christy Peo, Chandler Hardy and Akriti Jalla.

For more information, visit