The Edmond Sun

November 6, 2012

National Merit achievers recognized during board meeting

Santa Fe introduced to board as Blue Ribbon School

Patty Miller
The Edmond Sun

EDMOND — National Merit Semifinalists, Commended Scholar and National Achievement students were recognized during Monday night’s Edmond Board of Education meeting.

In early September about 16,000 students, or about one-third of the 50,000 students who scored high on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, were notified they had qualified as Semifinalists.

To ensure academically talented young people from all parts of the United States are included in this talent pool, Semifinalists are designated on a state representational basis.

Semifinalists had been named earlier and included Memorial High School students: Annah Baykal, Parker Cain, John Drake, Elisabeth Green, Christina Hagenmeier, Daniel King, Meghan Rice, Joel Schimek, Jacqueline Visina and Madison White.

North High School Semifinalist named earlier was Carrie Funderburk.

Santa Fe High School had five Semifinalists including: Jenny Ancik, Rashidul Esrar, Derek Knowles, Natalie Wilkinson and Julia Zhu.

In late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the about 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states.

Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Hayes introduced Santa Fe’s nine Commended Students by saying he was proud of the students and the academic success they have achieved.

Santa Fe had nine Commended Students including: Alice Barrett, Perrin Chagan, Nikita Hussain, Shelby Jackson, Austin Johns, Ashley Neese, Elizabeth Parsons, Cody Spence and Madeline Stelter.

Memorial Commended Students included nine students: Kimberley Bishop, Rachael Campo, Zachary Cook, Andrew Hiller, Magdalena Hoot, Ryan Jones, Jonathan Miller, Eszter Nagykaldi and Meredith Winn.

North Commended Students included three students: Sally Bock, David Craig and Katelyn M. Wright.

The National Achievement Scholarship Program is an academic competition established in 1964 to provide recognition for outstanding Black American high school students.

North National Achievement student was Teresa Emesiani.

Santa Fe Named as  Blue Ribbon School

Santa Fe High School’s Principal Jason Hayes recognized the school for being named one of six Oklahoma Blue Ribbon Schools and the only high school named this year.

“This award is shared with the principals and other administrators who came before me and laid the ground work to improve on the school’s strengths, highlight its uniqueness and commit to an unwavering expectation of excellence,” Hayes said.  

Santa Fe was named an Exemplary High Performing School. Regardless of the school’s demographics or percentage of students from disadvantaged backgrounds, the school is high performing. These are schools that are ranked among the state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments in both reading/language arts and mathematics or that score at the highest performance level on tests referenced by national norms in at least the most recent year tested.