The Edmond Sun


October 25, 2013

UCO-based Educators’ Leadership Academy announces 2013-14 Outstanding Professors’ Academy

EDMOND — The University of Central Oklahoma-based Educators’ Leadership Academy congratulated 26 Oklahoma professors on being selected for the 2013-14 Outstanding Professors’ Academy (OPA).

Established in 1997, the OPA is designed for professors recognized for making superior contributions to their institutions and their disciplines. Professors assume leadership roles and responsibilities every day in their multiple relationships with students, peers, administrators and the public.

The leadership academy is a rare opportunity for them to hone and sculpt their abilities to lead in a time of rapid change.

Those selected for the 2013-14 Outstanding Professors’ Academy, followed by their institutions, are: Dr. Chris Austin, Oklahoma Christian University, Edmond; Dr. Lucy Bailey, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater; Dr. Ryan Bisel, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Dr. Janet Cole, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater; Dr. Gerald Fitch, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater; Dr. Aimee Franklin, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Ms. Lanie Gabbard, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Dr. Ronald Gaddie, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Dr. Mary Ann Harris, Northern Oklahoma College, Enid; Dr. David Hartmann, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Dr. Dylan Herrick, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Dr. Alisa Hicklin Fryar, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Dr. Raymon Huston, Oklahoma Christian University, Edmond; Ms. Angela Keneda, Rose State College, Midwest City; Mr. Kelly Kirk, Seminole State College, Seminole; Dr. Sunu Kodumthara, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Weatherford; Dr. Robin Lacy, Jr., University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Dr. Denise Landrum-Geyer, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Weatherford; Dr. Steven Mackie, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Alva; Mr. Steve McClaren, Northern Oklahoma College, Tonkawa; Dr. Jacilyn Olson, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Mr. Jeff Tate, Northern Oklahoma College, Enid; Dr. Susy Villegas, University of Oklahoma, Norman; Dr. Sherri Ward, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Ms. Catherine Wieck, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Dr. Gang Xu, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond.

FOR MORE information, contact Cary Williams, director of the Educators’ Leadership Academy at or 405-974-5561.


Text Only
  • UCO forensic volunteer wants to aid more agencies

    A four-person group of forensic investigators who volunteer their time to help smaller Oklahoma police departments isn’t enough to meet demand, a member said.
    Kama King, who recently completed her graduate research and will be a member of the faculty at the University of Central Oklahoma’s Forensic Science Institute, said outside of full-time jobs, members of the group volunteer to assist these agencies.
    As her career progresses, King hopes to help establish a permanently funded organization available to any agency in the state to assist in remains recovery as well as related training.

    July 29, 2014

  • UCO announces Spring 2014 Honor Roll students

    The University of Central Oklahoma recently announced the students named to the university honor rolls, a distinction given to those who achieve the highest academic standards.
    For the spring 2014 semester, 1,073 students made the President’s Honor Roll, an honor achieved by those who recorded a “straight-A” or 4.0 GPA.

    July 28, 2014

  • 11.6.12 Mother and Cub (2).jpg UCO forensic researcher answers key question

    After working a few human recovery cases on a volunteer basis with a variety of police departments, a question kept bugging Kama King.
    “You spend the whole day,” the UCO W. Roger Webb Forensic Science Institute student said, “sometimes days, searching for someone and only find a skull or a few bones and it just ate at me. Are we not finding this or is it not there to be found?”

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • pm_Ramona Paul.jpg Keith, 5 others to receive service awards

    The 2014 Door-Opener Awards Gala dinner and silent auction Sept. 4, benefitting ASTEC Charter Schools, will recognize five outstanding Oklahomans and one Kansan for lifetime contributions made toward helping others in society maximize potential and achieve dreams.
    Those selected to receive a Door-Opener Award at the Skirvin Hilton Hotel event include Dr. Harvey Dean, Pittsburg, Kan.; Toby Keith and Tricia Covel, Norman; Former Gov. George P. Nigh, Edmond; the late Dr. Ramona Paul, Edmond; and Natalie Shirley, Oklahoma City.

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • Edmond Youth Chorus auditions begin Monday

    The Fine Arts Institute of Edmond is seeking talented youth to try out for the upcoming season of the Edmond Youth Chorus.

    July 25, 2014

  • Rainbow Fleet introduces statewide child care line

    Oklahoma parents can now access a statewide program designed to provide resources and referrals for services across Oklahoma.

    July 25, 2014

  • Team Oklahoma Team Oklahoma brings home third place from NTAE

    Members of Team Oklahoma competing in the National Tournament of Academic Excellence placed third at the national competition held recently in Orlando.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Edmond School District’s change orders anticipated

    When building new schools and classrooms there may be additional costs, but when renovating older buildings those costs can more than double, according to a Edmond School District official.
    “When remodeling, you have unknown and hidden costs and you need to include in your budgeted funds for the built-in items you can not see,” said Bret Towne, Edmond’s associate superintendent of general administration.

    July 25, 2014

  • OC welcomes missionary, military families

    For the ninth consecutive year Oklahoma Christian University will host missionary and military families returning to the United States at Global Reunion 2014.
    The July 23-27 camp has doubled in size in the last two years with 150 participants from 43 countries on campus.
    The camp is for children who are known as Third Culture Kids (TCKs) though parents are allowed to attend sessions as well. Directors Kent and Nancy Hartman, missionaries-in-residence at OC, give tools and resources to families that have lived outside the United States and are now seeking to reenter U.S. culture. The Hartmans spent more than 10 years as missionaries in Australia and were surprised by the challenges of reintegrating their family into America.

    July 25, 2014

  • UCO DEBATE_submitted.jpg UCO debate team succeeds at nationals

    The University of Central Oklahoma’s debate team traveled to Bloomington, Ind., at the end of March to compete in the Cross Examination Debate Association’s National Championship Tournament (CEDANCT), bringing home several awards and finishing the year ranked no. 24 in the nation.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo