The Edmond Sun


October 13, 2012

Edmond Schools announce 2013 site Teachers of the Year

EDMOND — Twenty-four teachers in the Edmond School District have been named site Teacher of the Year for 2013.

Staff members at each school voted for their selections earlier this month.

 “Being named a site Teacher of the Year is a tremendous honor because it shows that a teacher’s peers recognize and appreciate his or her talent, enthusiasm and dedication,” said Superintendent David Goin.

Out of the 24 teachers selected, one will be named the 2013 Edmond Teacher of the Year and represent the district at the state competition. The winner is decided following a selection process by the district’s professional development committee.

“The site teachers are required to submit to the committee an unedited video of their classroom instruction that shows interaction with students,” said Tara Fair, associate superintendent of educational services and head of the professional development committee. “The committee will then choose several finalists. Those finalists must then submit a detailed portfolio and complete a comprehensive interview with committee members.”

The 2013 Edmond Teacher of the Year will be announced next spring at the Edmond Public Schools Foundation Celebration of Excellence.  

The Edmond site Teachers of the Year are:

Elementary schools

Tina Valentine, fifth grade, Angie Debo

Jane Williams, fifth grade, Centennial

Heather Flowers, first grade, Charles Haskell

Mary Burns, P.E./health, Chisholm

Diane Paine, fifth grade, Clegern/Clyde Howell

Jeanne Ksiazak, first grade, Cross Timbers

Mary Lou Schwada, fourth grade, Ida Freeman

Cindy Radford, special education, John Ross

Paula Ford, pre-K, Northern Hills

Mike Franz, P.E., Orvis Risner

April Robichaux, fifth grade, Russell Dougherty

Robyn Hays, second grade, Sunset

Shele Cook, fourth grade, Washington Irving

Shanda Moody, special education, West Field

Suzy Lausen, second grade, Will Rogers

Middle schools

Nicole Baughman, leadership/enrichment, Central

Dave Gibson, technology literacy, Cheyenne

Calli McNickle, eighth-grade Spanish, Cimarron

Erin Buck, special education, Sequoyah

Janel Cypert, special education, Summit

High schools

Josh DeLozier, government/student council, Memorial

Peter Markes, orchestra/AP music theory, North

Heather Jones, English I, Santa Fe

Christy Prather-Skinner, counselor, Boulevard Academy

Text Only
  • Dr. Fielding’s variance denied by close vote

    Reverse-angle parking will continue at the 13 N. University Drive office of Dr. Brad Fielding. The Edmond City Council rejected a variance request by the local optometrist to end the city’s pilot project in front of his medical facility.
    Councilman Nick Massey and Councilwoman Victoria Caldwell supported Fielding’s variance request that was dismissed in a 3-2 vote.
    Four parking lines were striped late last year at Fielding’s business after the city opened new bicycle lanes along University. The city cites the safety for bicyclists and motorists who traditionally depart while backing into traffic as the main reasons for introducing reverse-angle parking.

    April 15, 2014

  • Sequoyah Sequoyah names students of the month

    Sequoyah teachers chose the following students as students of the month for being good role models, conscientious students, diligent workers, and respectful individuals

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • OCU planning Earth Day activities

    Oklahoma City University will celebrate Earth Day with events on April 22. The events are free to the public and will be in the McDaniel University Center near Florida Avenue and Northwest 26th Street.

    April 12, 2014

  • Ruff Draft Student newspaper, magazines take top honors at contest

    Ruff Draft, the student newspaper produced by staffs at all three Edmond high schools, recently took top honors in the Oklahoma Scholastic Media competition, which is conducted in coordination with the Gaylord School of Journalism at the University of Oklahoma.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Art Show UCO puts the spotlight on design graduates

    The University of Central Oklahoma Department of Design will present “Defeaters of Dull: The Design Senior Show” from 6-8 p.m. April 17 at the First National Center, 120 N. Robinson Ave., Suite 730W, in downtown Oklahoma City.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gala to celebrate global programs

    The University of Central Oklahoma’s Office of Global Affairs will present the International House Night Market Gala from 6-9 p.m. April 18 at the UCO International House, 912 N. Chowning Ave. in Edmond, just north of the main campus.
    Now in its second year, the gala’s 2014 theme is “A Fusion of Art and Cultural Storytelling.”
    Attendees will enjoy dinner, live and silent auctions, entertainment and the presentation of the award for Promoting Cross-Cultural Understanding to Pam Washington, Ph.D., dean of Central’s College of Fine Arts and Design, as well as the recognition of Zhongying Wang, president of Tiptop Energy Production US LLC, as a top contributor to Cross-Cultural Understanding.

    April 12, 2014

  • Oklahoma Christian presents band, orchestra concerts

    The Oklahoma Christian University music department will present its final instrumental concerts of the school year next week.

    April 12, 2014

  • safety 5.jpg 500-plus Edmond students visit safety village

    More than 500 local students have learned about safety from Edmond firefighters in recent days.
    Mid-day Friday, students from Washington Irving Elementary School were at the Edmond Fire Department’s Children’s Safety Village, a child-size, life safety education center where children learn in a hands-on environment. The village is complete with a city park, buildings, streets, traffic lights, a railroad crossing, a water feature and utility-like infrastructure.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Edmond student named National Achievement Scholarship winner

    National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced this week the names of about 800 outstanding Black American high school seniors who have won Achievement Scholarship® awards through the National Achievement Scholarship Program. These awards, totaling more than $2 million, are financed by grants from 31 corporate organizations and professional associations, and by National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

    April 11, 2014

  • Perry takes on Summit principal position

    Shana Perry was named the new principal of Summit Middle School starting for the 2014-15 school year. The Edmond Board of Education voted on the personnel change at its regularly scheduled meeting Monday.

    April 10, 2014